Friday May 24th, 2024 10:13AM

ICYMI: FGN Week 11 wrap — Five area teams claim region crowns

By AccessWDUN Staff

Buford, Dawson County, Gainesville, Jefferson, and Rabun County all captured region titles in huge games around the Northeast Georgia area Friday night.

Buford whipped Mountain View, 56-7, to win the Region 8-7A crown. Gainesville held off North Forsyth, 34-21, at City Park to claim the 8-6A title, while Jefferson routed Heritage-Conyers, 49-6, to win the Region 8-5A title. Rabun County won its ninth-straight region title, the first in Region 8-A Division 1, with a thrilling 27-22 win over Commerce at home.

Dawson County won the 7-3A title with a big 38-10 win over arch-rival Lumpkin County at The Burial Grounds. Also in 7-3A, Pickens eliminated White County from playoff contention with a 48-28 win, giving Lumpkin County a bid into the playoffs in the process.

8-4A playoff hopefuls North Hall and East Forsyth saw their chances of advancing take a blow as the Trojans fell to Cedar Shoals, 28-14, while Chestatee took down East Forsyth, 32-28, at War Eagle Stadium.

Union County's bid to play for the Region 8-2A title, however, was ended with a 38-7 loss to Athens Academy on the road. The Panthers, however, secured a playoff spot with Banks County's 42-7 loss to Fellowship Christian. Meanwhile, East Jackson secured its first playoff berth since 2009 with a 41-34 win over Providence Christian.

You can check AccessWDUN's Friday Game Night page for game stories and video highlights.

Athens Academy 38, Union County 7*
Buford 56, Mountain View 7*
Cedar Shoals 28, North Hall 14*
Chestatee 32, East Forsyth 28*
Dawson County 38, Lumpkin County 10*
East Jackson 41, Providence Christian 34*
Fellowship Christian 42, Banks County 7*
Gainesville 34, North Forsyth 21*
George Walton Academy 56, Lakeview Academy 36*
Habersham Central 28, Apalachee 14*
Jefferson 49, Heritage-Conyers 6*
Lanier Christian 2, Walker 0 (forfeit)*
Loganville 31, Flowery Branch 22*
Loganville Christian 21, Riverside Military 12*
North Oconee 83, East Hall 0*
Pickens 48, White County 28*
Rabun County 27, Commerce 22*
Washington-Wilkes 29, Towns County 6*
Wesleyan 45, West Hall 0*

Clarkston 8, Johnson 6

(Cherokee Bluff and Jackson County were off.)

(* -- denotes region contest)

© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.