Monday July 22nd, 2024 1:23PM

North Georgia Technical College Foundation awards over 70 scholarships

By Lawson Smith Anchor/Reporter

The North Georgia Technical College Foundation recently awarded several scholarships for both current students and those planning to attend the school for the 2024-2025 academic year. 

The foundation awarded 60 scholarships totaling $34,259 for the 2024 summer semester to recipients composed of current NGTC students from all three campuses. The awards ranged from $100 to $1,500 and will help minimize the cost of tuition, books, fees, and dormitory expenses. 

Scholarship recipients are as follows: 

Banks County:

  • Emily Murphy, Commerce

  • Monique Rucker, Homer

Cobb County:

  • Ben Lea, Acworth

Fannin County:

  • April Brackett, McCaysville

  • Jessa Dancsecs, Morganton

  • Alicia Jones, Epworth

  • Shaunda Queen, Epworth

  • Kirstin Vila, Blue Ridge

  • Ashley Lopez, McCaysville

Floyd County:

  • Tunika Lemons, Rome

Franklin County:

  • Agustin Acosta, Royston

  • Christopher Forrer, Carnesville

  • Marie Culver, Carnesville

  • Nicole King, Carnesville

Gilmer County:

  • Madison Dockery, Ellijay

Gwinnett County:

  • Raul Hernandez, Lawrenceville

Habersham County:

  • Catherine Dougherty Owens, Demorest

  • Jacob Edwards, Alto

  • Ramon Fuentes, Alto

  • Louise Hatfield, Mount Airy

  • Olivia Jamerson, Alto

  • Heather McCoy, Mount Airy

  • Kylie Kastner, Clarkesville

  • Riley Moody, Clarkesville

  • Robert Weiner, Clarkesville

  • Natalie Moreno, Alto

  • Shelby Belonga, Demorest

  • Jamie Jackels, Cornelia

  • Maria Zavala de Orozco, Cornelia

Hall County:

  • Jessica Flor, Gainesville

  • Amanda Williams, Clermont

Hart County:

  • Mckenzye Wardingley, Hartwell

Lumpkin County:

  • Chesney Bottoms, Dahlonega

  • McDuffie County:

  • Marquis Hixson, Thomson

  • Newton County:

  • Dylan Lynn, Covington

  • Rabun County:

  • Jacob Holm, Clayton

  • Nathan Thompson, Clayton

Stephens County:

  • Sherri Aldridge, Toccoa

  • Brittany Davis, Toccoa

  • Clarissa Vickery, Toccoa

  • Karly Smith, Toccoa

  • Mary Stein, Toccoa

  • Bristol Carter, Toccoa

  • Georgia Seymour, Martin

Towns County:

  • William Lynn, Young Harris

  • Zachary Mullins, Hiawassee

  • Kenda Moody, Hiawassee

  • Cristy Shattles, Young Harris

  • Whitaker Nicholson, Hiawassee

  • Kyle Smyth, Hiawassee

  • Madeleine Plummer, Young Harris

Union County:

  • Emily Schlarb, Blairsville

  • Allison Fair, Blairsville

  • Karen Hicks, Blue Ridge

  • Alexis Young, Blairsville

White County:

  • Janelle Biesterfeld, Cleveland

  • Veronica Mizerak, Cleveland

  • Jessica Welch, Cleveland

  • Rhiannon Whitfield, Cleveland

  • Macon County, North Carolina:

  • Savannah Shaheen, Highlands

 Additionally, NGTC’s foundation awarded 12 $500 Dr. Mark A. Ivester Memorial Scholarships for the forthcoming academic year. Recipients for the funds composed of one graduating high school senior from each school and Mountain Education Campus within the college’s eight county service area. 

Named after the schools’ late president,  the Dr. Mark A. Ivester Memorial Scholarship is presented to students who have excelled in a career technical education program during high school and plan to continue their education at NGTC. 
Recipients of the Dr. Mark A. Ivester Memorial Scholarship are as follows: 

  • Warren Bowen, Mineral Bluff, Fannin County High School

  • Kiley Snelgrove, Lavonia, Franklin County High School

  • Emily Gattis, Clarkesville, Habersham Central High School

  • Avriel Clark, Clarkesville, Habersham Mountain Education Campus

  • Madison Hunter, Tiger, Rabun County High School

  • Ashlynn Wilson, Tiger, Rabun Mountain Education Campus

  • Bertha Mendez, Toccoa, Stephens County High School

  • Rex Roe, Eastanollee, Stephens Mountain Education Campus

  • Andrew Brinson, Young Harris, Towns County High School

  • Carrie Webster, Blairsville, Union County High School

  • Keana Gonzalez Nieves, Blairsville, Union Mountain Education Campus

  • James Joseph DeFoor, Dahlonega, White County High School

The NGTC Foundation offers award opportunities each semester from numerous scholarship funds, some of which award more than one scholarship, according to a release from the school. 

Students are expected to meet eligibility requirements and selection criteria, including a demonstrated financial need, as established by each individual scholarship. The Foundation’s scholarship application deadline for the fall 2024 semester is July 22, 2024. Students are encouraged to apply online at Applications must be submitted by the published deadline each semester.

  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Local/State News
  • Associated Tags: education, academics, North Georgia Technical College Foundation, scholarships , Student Achievement , North Georgia Technical College
© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.