Tuesday October 19th, 2021 3:38PM

Buford, Hab Central bring home 8-6A All-Region awards

By AccessWDUN Staff

The Region 8-6A All-Region football team was released recently with members of Buford and Habersham Central taking home season-ending awards.

(The All-Region team and awards are voted on by the region coaches.)

Buford's Bryant Appling was named Coach of the Year and the Wolves' Jacob Smith was voted Lineman of the Year and Alejandro Mata was named Specialist of the Year. Habersham Central's Joshua Pickett was named Co-Player of the Year while the Raiders' Jackson Clouatre was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Below is the entire All-Region team:

Region 8-6A
Players of the year: WR/DB Joshua Pickett, Habersham Central, Sr.; and WR/RB Mekhi Mews, Central Gwinnett, Sr.
Offensive player of the year: RB Jackson Clouatre, Habersham Central, Sr.
Defensive player of the year: DL Jacob Merrifield, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
Two-way player of the year: RB/LB Kyle Efford, Dacula, Jr.
Athlete of the year: DB/WR/RB Kaleb Edwards, Dacula, Sr.
Lineman of the year: Jacob Smith, Buford, Sr.
Specialist of the year: Alejandro Mata, Buford, Jr.
Coach of the year: Bryant Appling, Buford

QB - Justin Johnson, Central Gwinnett, So.
QB - Dylan Wittke, Buford, So.
RB - J.C. Green, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
RB - Gabe Ervin, Buford, Sr.
RB - Bryan Williams, Lanier, So.
RB - Victor Venn, Buford, Jr.
WR - Eldrick Mason, Central Gwinnett, Sr.
WR - Antonio Meeks, Shiloh, Sr.
WR - Reese Scott, Lanier, Jr.
WR - Jake Pope, Buford, Jr.
WR - Myles Smith, Shiloh, So.
WR - Isaiah Bond, Buford, Jr.
TE - Daniel Poole, Dacula, Jr.
TE - Lorenzo Moore, Shiloh, Jr.
OL - Adam Watkins, Dacula, Sr.
OL - Christian Culbreth, Shiloh, Jr.
OL - Caleb Archer, Buford, Sr.
OL - Price Campbell, Lanier, Sr.
OL - Pierce Vickery, Habersham Central, Sr.
OL - Tyrek McDaniel, Dacula, Sr.
OL - Ahmand Tate, Shiloh, Sr.
OL - T.J. Lowe, Buford, Sr.
OL - Nick Claypole, Lanier, So.
OL - Butch Cassidy, Habersham Central, Sr.
RET - Tyler Washington, Lanier, Sr.
PK - Mason Mancilla, Lanier, Sr.
PK - Erick Quiquivix, Shiloh, Jr.
P - Sutton Dover, Habersham Central, Sr.

DL - Aidan Thompson, Winder-Barrow, So.
DL - Ladanian Thompson, Shiloh, Sr.
DL - Matthew Alexander, Buford, Sr.
DL - Kyle King, Lanier, Sr.
DL - Josiah Wyatt, Buford, Jr.
DL - Tanner Wade, Habersham Central, Sr.
DL - Damon Gaskin, Shiloh, Jr.
DL - Malik Cunningham, Buford, Jr.
OLB - Ahmad Edwards, Shiloh, Sr.
OLB - Malik Spencer, Buford, Sr.
OLB - Grayson Taylor, Habersham Central, Sr.
OLB - Nick Perry, Buford, Sr.
OLB - Caleb Wade, Habersham Central, Jr.
OLB - Victor Payne, Buford, Jr.
ILB - T.J. Young, Dacula, Sr.
ILB - Rylan Serna, Lanier, Sr.
ILB - Chandler Maxwell, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
ILB - Isaac Prince, Shiloh, Jr.
ILB - Tommy Beuglas, Buford, Sr.
ILB - Moses Pryor, Central Gwinnett, Sr.
ILB - Garrett Heaton, Habersham Central, Jr.
DB - Amir Taylor, Central Gwinnett, Sr.
DB - Yanis Kasende, Lanier, Sr.
DB - Dylan Hand, Dacula, Sr.
DB - Marquis Hepburn, Shiloh, Sr.
DB - Amari Wansley, Buford, Sr.
DB - Brice Pollock, Shiloh, So.
DB - Boyd Farmer, Buford, Sr.
DB - Austin Wood, Habersham Central, Sr.
DB - Andrew Lewis, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
DB - Montae Boyd, Shiloh, Sr.
DB - Patrick Tedder, Habersham Central, Sr.

Honorable mention: Buford - LB Aubrey Smith, DB Ryland Gandy, LB Nate Norys, RB C.J. Clinkscales, DB Malik Willis. Central Gwinnett - LB Jayoland Threat. Dacula - LB Reggie Icilien, LB Festus Davies. Habersham Central - WR Gage Hurt, WR/LB Azzi Cervantes, OL/DL Jonathan Adams, DL Alex Aaron. Lanier - LB Ford Reasons, DL Tyson Cooper, WR/DB Aaron Prum, OL Luke Jones, DB Braylon Alexander. Shiloh - LB Ryan Green, OL Elijah Johnson, WR Xavier Wright, RB Christion Barker. Winder-Barrow - LB Timmy Presley, WR Stewart Allen, OL Jacob Atkinson, OL Devan Berry, DB Omarious Smith Jr., DB Jay Smith

  • Associated Categories: Sports, High School Sports, Friday Game Night
  • Associated Tags: High school football, Buford football, Habersham Central football
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.