Wednesday April 17th, 2024 7:35AM

NASCAR Cup Series: Larson looks for second straight win at Vegas

By AccessWDUN Staff

Kyle Larson could join Jeff Burton, Matt Kenseth and Jimmie Johnson to win consecutive NASCAR Cup Series races at Las Vegas.

The Hendrick Motorsports driver became the ninth different driver to win multiple races at Vegas with his victory last October. Now, he could join the back-to-back list and become the first since Johnson did it in 2007.

Larson has made 15 NASCAR Cup Series starts at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, posting one pole, two wins (2021, 2023), seven top fives, and 11 top 10s. He has also led 447 and has put up an average finish of 9.9 – series-best among active drivers and second all-time to NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt with a 7.7.

Larson also leads the series in runner-up finishes at Las Vegas with four.

But if recent history repeats itself, Larson's chances of getting the win won't be easy. Over the last five races, there have been five different winners. 

Las Vegas has produced five different winners in the last five Cup races – Denny Hamlin (Sept. 2021), Alex Bowman (Mar. 2022), Joey Logano (Oct. 2022), William Byron (Mar. 2023) and Kyle Larson (Oct. 2023). Will we see a sixth different winner this weekend?

A total of 18 different drivers have won in the NASCAR Cup Series at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, and eight of the 18 are active this weekend, led by RFK Racing’s Brad Keselowski (2014, 2016, 2018) and Team Penske’s Joey Logano (2019, 2020, 2022) with three wins each.

No driver has ever won their first NASCAR Cup Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, but 14 drivers this weekend will be attempting to get their first career victory - Josh Berry, Harrison Burton, Ty Gibbs, Todd Gilliland, Noah Gragson, Kaz Grala, Daniel Hemric, Carson Hocevar, Derek Kraus, Corey LaJoie, John Hunter Nemechek, Ryan Preece, Zane Smith and J.J. Yeley.

Outside front row is the qualifying spot to have at Vegas

A total of 19 different drivers have won a pole in the NASCAR Cup Series at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, but the most proficient starting spot in the field is the outside front row, a.k.a. the second starting position, as it has won six of the 32 total NASCAR Cup Series races at the 1.5-mile track, double that of the next best starting position. The second starting position has a winning percentage of 18.75% and was the starting position of the last two Cup winners at Las Vegas Motor Speedway – William Byron (March 5, 2023) and Kyle Larson (Oct. 15, 2023).

Only once did a driver win a NASCAR Cup Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway from the pole or first starting position, and it was Las Vegas native Kyle Busch who accomplished the feat in 2009.

Seven of the 19 NASCAR Cup Series Las Vegas Motor Speedway pole winners are active this weekend. Kasey Kahne leads the NASCAR Cup Series in poles at Las Vegas Motor Speedway with three poles (2004, 2007, 2012). Christopher Bell (2022, 2023), Joey Logano (2014, 2023), and Kyle Busch (2008, 2009) lead all active NASCAR Cup Series drivers in poles at Las Vegas Motor Speedway with two each.

NASCAR Wire Service contributed to this story

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, NASCAR Cup
  • Associated Tags: nascar, NASCAR Cup Series, Kyle Larson, Las Vegas Motor Speedway
© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.