Wednesday February 21st, 2024 4:27AM

2 GCPS principals named finalists for GASSP Principal of the Year Award

By Lawson Smith Anchor/Reporter
Two Gwinnett County Public Schools principals have been recognized as finalists for the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals’ 2024 Principal of the Year Award. 
Dr. Brett Savage of Brookwood High School and Ryan Queen of Trickum Middle School are among six other finalists for the award, which recognizes principals for their leadership, dedication to their schools and communities, and innovative educational approaches. 
The selection process began with a rigorous application process, with finalists now moving on to interviews with a committee to determine the principal that will receive the award. 
 Both Savage and Queen expressed their gratitude for the recognition in a press release from GCPS. 
“It is truly an honor to be recognized as a finalist,” Savage said. “However, nothing noteworthy is ever achieved alone. This recognition is a testament to the excellent staff at Brookwood High School and the supportive community in which we work. I think this is a recognition of the great work done every day in the schools of the Brookwood cluster.”
“Being selected as a finalist for this recognition is quite humbling,” Queen said. “The role of principal is an amazingly rewarding job in the day-to-day work with students, staff, and the community. Nevertheless, it is also not often recognized, and therefore, to be selected as a representative among my peers to highlight and celebrate the work of principals across the state of Georgia is a great honor.”
The winner will be announced in the coming months following a surprise visit to the recipient principal’s school. The 2024 GASSP Principal of the Year Award winner will move forward into the 2025 National Association of Secondary School Principal of the Year Competition.
  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Local/State News
  • Associated Tags: Gwinnett County, education , Gwinnett County Public Schools , achievement , Principal of the Year Award
© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.