Saturday May 25th, 2024 4:19AM

Buddy Kofoid captures Tuesday Chili Bowl qualifier

By Bryan Hulbert

TULSA, Okla. - Buddy Kofoid led start-to-finish en route to his second career Warren CAT Qualifying night feature win during the 38th annual Chili Bowl Nationals on Tuesday night at Oklahoma’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

The win locks Kofoid into his fourth championship A-Feature event on Saturday night since 2020.

It also marks back-to-back preliminary night wins for car owner Keith Kunz, along with his 36th victory at the Chili Bowl Nationals.

“With how the format is here, you want to try and put yourself in a position all day to be starting up front,” Kofoid said. “I feel like we did a really good job all day with heat Races, extremely good in the qualifier, and still even felt like I could have been a little bit better for how tricky the track was.”

Kofoid jumped to the lead from the pole, and quickly gapped Hank Davis on the point. Davis closed on lap 13 as Kofoid worked slower traffic, but was unable to challenge for the lead.

The only bump in the road for Kofoid came in a four-lap shootout as the field came back to green from a caution period, as his car went on two wheels in turn one. But Kofoid was able to recover and crossed the finish line by 1.457-seconds over the runner-up.

Davis finished in second, which also locks him into Saturday night’s A-Feature.

Chase McDermand crossed the line in third, followed by David Gravel in fourth, and Kameron Key in fifth.

Thomas Meseraull, Landon Brooks, Kevin Thomas, Jr., Zach Daum, and Jake Bubak rounded out the top ten.

Action in the 38th annual Chili Bowl Nationals continues with Wednesday’s York Plumbing Qualifying Night. For more information, visit

Chili Bowl Nationals
Tulsa Expo Raceway – Tulsa, OK
Warren CAT Qualifying Night – January 9, 2024

1. 71W-Buddy Kofoid*
2. 29S-Hank Davis*
3. 7U-Chase McDermand
4. 58-David Gravel
5. 21J-Kameron Key
6. 7T-Thomas Meseraull
7. 57W-Landon Brooks
8. 55X-Kevin Thomas, Jr.
9. 47X-Zach Daum
10. 27B-Jake Bubak
11. 26-Corbin Rueschenberg
12. 08X-Parker Price Miller
13. 7S-Jake Andreotti
14. 14P-Kyle Strickler
15. 25V-Billy VanInwegen, Jr.
16. 13-Elijah Gile
17. 1Z-Justin Zimmerman
18. 8K-K.J. Snow
19. 55D-Nick Drake
20. 3N-Jake Neuman
21. 87F-Kinzer Edwards
22. 20C-C.J. Sarna
23. 11B-Clinton Boyles-DNF
24. 7E-Cap Henry-DNF

*Top 2 advance to Saturday’s A-Feature

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Midgets, Chili Bowl
© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.