Tuesday March 21st, 2023 9:52AM

Austin Reed powers to Limited Late Model win at Lavonia

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

There’s nothing like a first time winner – just ask Austin Reed.

The Hartwell, Georgia native drove to his first career Limited Late Model win on Saturday afternoon at Georgia’s Lavonia Speedway.

After scoring the pole in qualifying, Reed led every lap in the 25-lap feature at the 3/8-mile clay oval en route to the win.

Over the closing laps, outside pole sitter Parris Simmons began to close, but ran out of time. Simmons had to settle for second, with James Nash in third, John Howard in fourth, and Deano Long in fifth.

In other action, Crandall Turner was flagged the winner of the 602 Late Model feature, only to see the win go away in post race tech when he was found to be running on unapproved tires. That handed the win to Brady Cornett, with Chris Woods moving to second, Taylor Griffith third, Nathan Bray fourth, and David Conner fifth.

Michael Segars added to his 2023 win total with a victory in the Modified Street feature. Segars took the lead early and held on to record the win, with Evan Brown in second, Benjamin Norris in third, Rex Hambrick in fourth, and Elijah Gonzales in fifth.

Chris Nickerson led flag-to-flag to take the Open Wheel Modified feature win. Clayton Turner, Brian Nickerson, Ethan Sellers, and Shane Strickland rounded out the top five.

Rocky Jones dominated a caution filled Stock 8 feature to record the victory. Michael Segars followed in second, with Anthony Stephens in third, Kevin Bryant in fourth, and Mike Oglesby in fifth.

Cole McKeehan drove to the win in the 602 Chargers feature, with Marcus Riders second, Michael McClure third, Jackson Wages fourth, and Frankie Barrett fifth.

Cohen Fortson crossed under the checkered flag first to win the Young Guns feature. Brandon Jones came home in second, with Skylar Brown in third, and Koltin Bryant in fourth.

Wayne Chapman was first across the finish line in the Front Wheel Drive feature, but failed post-race tech inspection, stripping him of the win. That moved Stacy Foster to victory lane, with Josh Campbell, Lee Mason, Mason Kinsey, and Peter Comeau rounding out the top five.

Noe Zuniga was the winner in the Enduro feature, with Wesley Frankum second, Dalton Taylor third, Michael Davis fourth, and Bobby Terry, Sr. fifth.

For more information on Lavonia Speedway, visit

Lavonia Speedway – Lavonia, GA
Race Results – March 11, 2023

Limited Late Models
1. Austin Reed
2. Parris Simmons
3. James Nash
4. John Howard
5. Deano Long
6. Jimmy Mason

602 Late Models
1. Brady Cornett
2. Chris Woods
3. Taylor Griffeth
4. Nathan Bray
5. David Conner
6. Shane Yarbrough
7. Cody Segars
DQ: Crandall Turner

Modified Street
1. Michael Segars
2. Evan Brown
3. Benjamin Norris
4. Rex Hambrick
5. Elijah Gonzales
DNS: Kenneth Mason

Open Wheel Modifieds
1. Chris Nickerson
2. Clayton Turner
3. Brian Nickerson
4. Ethan Sellers
5. Shane Strickland

Stock 8
1. Rocky Jones
2. Michael Segars
3. Anthony Stephens
4. Kevin Bryant
5. Mike Oglesby
6. Ricky Chamberlain
7. C.J. Lewis

602 Chargers
1. Cole McKeehan
2. Marcus Riders
3. Michael McClure
4. Jackson Wages
5. Frankie Barrett

Young Guns
1. Cohen Fortson
2. Brandon Jones
3. Skylar Brown
4. Koltin Bryant

1. Stacy Foster
2. Josh Campbell
3. Lee Mason
4. Mason Kinsey
5. Peter Comeau
6. Seth Brown
7. Tony Stevens
8. Tyler Bridges
9. Steven Shedd
10. Jake McBride
11. Austin Kinsey
12. Landen Morgan
13. Brandon Grimes
DQ: Wayne Chapman

1. Noe Zuniga
2. Wesley Frankum
3. Dalton Taylor
4. Michael Davis
5. Bobby Terry, Sr.
6. Corey Chambers
7. Bobby Terry
8. Josh Nix
9. Keith Ross

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lavonia, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2023
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.