Sunday July 14th, 2024 4:16PM
2:30PM ( 1 hour ago ) Radio Alert

Baseball: Region 8-5A opens its region schedule

By Jeff Hart Sports Reporter

All but five of Friday’s action on the diamond will involve key region matchups for Northeast Georgia-area baseball teams.

Region 8-5A is the latest region to begin its playoff quests as the seven-team region opens things up on Friday. Class 5A's ninth-ranked Flowery Branch (7-5, 0-0 Region 8-5A)  has a tough road-opener against Winder-Barrow  (6-6, 0-0 Region 8-5A). Jefferson (8-3, 0-0 Region 8-5A) opens region play at home against winless Clarke Central (0-8, 0-0 Region 8-5A).

Meanwhile, Region 8-4A will conclude its crossover portion of its region schedule on Friday before jumping into the all-important subregion schedules, which will be the best 2-of-3 format, on Monday.

The already ultra-competitive Region 8-6A has Gainesville (7-5, 1-1 Region 8-6A) playing host to Jackson County (4-9, 1-0 Region 8-6A) in a crucial early game for both teams. Habersham Central (8-4, 2-1 Region 8-6A) travels to Shiloh (4-5, 0-3 Region 8-6A).

However, one of the marquee showdowns of the day is a non-region battle. Buford (3-6) continues its ridiculously brutal schedule traveling to nationally-ranked and Class 7A No. 1-ranked Parkview (5-3).

(Check below for the full schedule of baseball games on Friday involving area teams.)

(All games start at 5:55 p.m. unless otherwise noted)

Friday, March 10
Athens Christian at Rabun County (DH), 5 p.m.*
Banks County at Stephens County, 5:30 p.m.
Cedar Shoals at East Forsyth*
Central Gwinnett at East Jackson, 5:30 p.m.
Madison County at Cherokee Bluff*
Clarke Central at Jefferson*
Commerce at Barrow Arts and Sciences (DH), 5 p.m.*
Flowery Branch at Winder-Barrow*
Gilmer at Union County, 5:30 p.m.
Habersham Central at Shiloh*
Jackson County at Gainesville*
Norcross at North Forsyth
Parkview at Buford
Seckinger at North Hall*
South Gwinnett at Johnson, 5:45 p.m.
Towns County at GSICS, 5 p.m.*
Walnut Grove at Chestatee*
West Hall at Dawson County*

(* -- denotes region contest)

© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.