Wednesday February 21st, 2024 12:38PM

Football: Brown, Noland, Haynes take honors on 8-5A All-Region team

By AccessWDUN Staff

Jefferson's Sammy Brown was named Player of the Year, Flowery Branch's Cam Haynes was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Dragons' coach Travis Noland was named Coach of the Year in the recently released Region 8-5A All-Region team.

(Selections were named by the region coaches.)

Jefferson rolled through the region undefeated to claim its second straight region crown. The Dragons ost 28-17 to Creekside in the Class 5A semifinals.

(See the entire All-Region team below:)

Region 8-5A
Player of the Year: RB/DB Sammy Brown, Jefferson, Sr.
Offensive Player of the Year: WR Ahmed Souare, Loganville, Jr.
Defensive Player of the Year: LB Cam Haynes, Flowery Branch, Sr.
Two-way Player of the Year: RB/DB Jayden Barr, Eastside, Jr.
Coach of the Year: Travis Noland, Jefferson

QB - Josh Oliver, Flowery Branch, Sr.
QB - Brody Hannah, Loganville, So.
QB - Gavin Markey, Jefferson, Jr.
QB - Tony Green, Heritage (Conyers), Sr.
RB - Corey Watkins, Clarke Central, Jr.
RB - M.J. Dowdy, Winder-Barrow, So.
RB - Malik Dryden, Flowery Branch, Sr.
RB - Anquez Cobb, Eastside, Sr.
WR - Jeremiah Ware, Flowery Branch, Jr.
WR - Seth Larson, Flowery Branch, Sr.
WR - Tyler Breedlove, Loganville, Jr.
WR - Jaden Cofer, Clarke Central, Sr.
WR - Dion Dean Jr, Heritage (Conyers), Sr.
WR - Kenyan Glasper, Winder-Barrow, So.
WR - Zay Minish, Jefferson, Sr.
WR - Marion Eubanks, Eastside, Jr.
H/FB/TE - Joseph Barnes, Loganville, Sr.
H/FB/TE - Chris Law, Jefferson, Sr.
H/FB/TE - Ethan Fetterman, Flowery Branch, Sr.
OL - Carter Hayes, Loganville, Jr.
OL - Jake Taylor, Loganville, Sr.
OL - Nick Paul, Clarke Central, Sr.
OL - Muntravic Bankston, Clarke Central, Sr.
OL - Myles Dixon, Heritage (Conyers), Jr.
OL - Mason Woods, Winder-Barrow, Jr.
OL - Aidan Scott, Winder-Barrow, Jr.
OL - Brian Senter, Jefferson, Sr.
OL - Ashley Eckert, Jefferson, Jr.
OL - Ty Oglesby, Jefferson, Jr.
OL - Tagen Brown, Eastside, Jr.
OL - Carlton Belgrave, Eastside, Jr.

DL - A.J. Lonon, Clarke Central, So.
DL - Kaleb Raines, Loganville, So.
DL - Caden Palmer, Loganville, Fr.
DL - Jacorey Jackson, Eastside, Sr.
DL - Xavier Joseph, Eastside, So.
DL - Kelan Butler, Jefferson, Jr.
DL - Tyrone Allen, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
LB - Frank Perez, Flowery Branch, Sr.
LB - Boulder Barrett, Loganville, Sr.
LB - Brandon Pruitt, Heritage (Conyers), Sr.
LB - Tank Harris, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
LB - Jamarcus Hester, Winder-Barrow, Jr.
LB - Kendrick Curry, Clarke Central, Sr.
LB - Rett Hemphill, Jefferson, Jr.
LB - Christian Gass, Eastside, Jr.
LB - Bailey Benson, Eastside, Jr.
DB - Bartez Gillespie, Clarke Central, Sr.
DB - Jordan Elder, Flowery Branch, Sr.
DB - Ty Akins, Flowery Branch, Sr.
DB - Bryce Genske, Loganville, Jr.
DB - Javon Harrison, Heritage (Conyers), Sr.
DB - A.J. Johnson, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
DB - Ryan McNally, Winder-Barrow, Sr.
DB - Charles B. Smith, Loganville, Sr.
DB - Jaden Butts, Jefferson, Sr.
DB - Marion Eubanks, Eastside, Jr.

Special teams
K - Cooper Evans, Clarke Central, Sr.
P - Chase Butler, Heritage (Conyers), Jr.
P - Tyler Hoff, Eastside, Sr.
RET - Jaylen Jackson, Clarke Central, Sr.

Honorable mention: Clarke Central --  LB Alexander Leahy, OL/DL Memphis Huff, TE/DE Jamarion Davis, CB Leon Tate, WR Nehamiah Jones. Eastside -- QB Payton Shaw, DB Kalen Stapp, DB Jaquez Cobb, K Jonathan Gomez. Flowery Branch -- DB Elijah Kiep, WR Camo Campbell, OL Garrett Harper, OL Tony Mejia. Heritage (Conyers) -- WR Justin Rowles, OL Jelias Respress, OL Colton Lowe, OL Isaiah Lonon, RB Myles Mims, DB Justin Hall, LB Bryston Williams. Jefferson -- DB Justin Beatty, DB Terry Willis, DB Dashaun Keith, OL Bryant Cox, DL Skyler Zimmerman. Loganville -- OL Caleb Dabney, K/P Devin Pugh, OL Henry Simpson, CB Austin Taylor, WR Jamin Marshall, DB Julian Tweedy. Winder-Barrow -- RB Xavier McCoy, DL Matt Greiner, LB Cam Gresham, DB Jadaan Cooper.

  • Associated Categories: Sports, Friday Game Night
  • Associated Tags: High school football, Flowery Branch football, Jefferson football
© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.