Sunday May 19th, 2024 5:46PM

NGTC Board of Directors and Trustees recognized by Technical College System of Georgia

By Lawson Smith Anchor/Reporter
North Georgia Technical College’s Board of Directors and Foundation Board of Trustees were recently recognized during the Technical College System of Georgia’s annual Leadership Conference in Savannah.  
The Board of Directors was granted the Technical College Directors’ Association board certification for the entire board for the 12th consecutive year. Earning the certification requires all board members to complete professional development workshops consisting of new board orientation/governance; relationship building with elected officials; community advocacy; legislative budgeting process and financial management of technical colleges; and an elective workshop, according to a release from the school. Board members must also attend  80% of local board meetings, tour the local technical college, and attend a TCSG State Board meeting or the TCSG Leadership Conference.  
This year’s NGTC Board of Directors members who earned this distinction include Chair Gilbert Barrett of Demorest, Vice Chair Cliff Bradshaw of Hiawassee, Mitchel Barrett of Cleveland, Ron Barden of Rabun Gap, Julia Barnett of Blairsville, Matt Cathey of Mount Airy, Scott Cochran of Lavonia, Theresa Dillard of Mineral Bluff, Rope Roberts of Clarkesville, and Dr. Jim Wade of Toccoa. 
The school’s Board of Trustees was awarded for attaining the Role Model Foundation Board Certification from the Technical College Foundation Association, marking the ninth consecutive year it’s received this distinction. 
The certification is presented to TCSG foundations that engage in ideal practices in nonprofit governance, board management, and operations; have policies in place to ensure compliance with state and federal regulations, especially in financial matters; are led by a board of trustees whose members are actively engaged in the foundation’s development activities; and support the professional development and state-level participation of their trustees, executive director, and college advancement personnel. 
This year’s  NGTC Foundation Board of Trustees include Chair Rev. David Tinsley of Young Harris, Jana Cheek of Toccoa, Mully Ash of Helen, Tim Ash of Clarkesville, Janine Bethel of Tiger, Hilda Burke of Clarkesville, Whit Diggs of Toccoa, David Foster of Cornelia, Don Higgins of Cornelia, Jason Hogan of Cleveland, Bob Ramay of Blairsville, Terry Rogers of Clarkesville, Stewart Sayer of Mount Airy, and Cassandra Wilkins of Toccoa. Emeritus members include Lynn Allen of Martin, Bob Evans of Toccoa, Pam Spangler of Sautee, Dr. Stephen Tilley of Toccoa, and Shirley Wilkinson of Cornelia. 
“We are very proud that North Georgia Technical College’s board of directors and Foundation trustee members support our students with such commitment and passion for student success,” NGTC Vice President of Institutional Advancement and Marketing Amy Hulsey, said in a release. “We are thankful for their representation of our college and their continued dedication to our mission.” 
  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Local/State News
  • Associated Tags: education, Demorest, north georgia technical college, technical college, School
© Copyright 2024
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.