Sunday February 5th, 2023 10:06PM

Moran wins WoO Late Model season opener at Volusia

By Mike Warren
  Contact Editor

BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Devin Moran thundered past Tim McCreadie to take the lead on lap 20, and held on to win the World of Outlaws CASE Late Model Series season opener Thursday night at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Florida.

McCreadie stormed to the lead when the 25-lap feature began, quickly pulling away from outside pole-sitter Chris Madden.

McCreadie built up more than a half-straightaway lead before the caution flew for Jordan Koehler on lap 9.

That’s when Moran’s climb to the lead began, as he powered past Nick Hoffman and Madden to pull into second on lap 10, setting his sights on McCreadie.

As McCreadie worked through slower traffic, he got loose in turn 4 on lap 19, allowing Moran to close within inches of his spoiler.

From there, Moran’s momentum propelled him underneath McCreadie in turn 1, as he slid in front of McCreadie’s nose to take the lead for good in turn 2 on lap 20.

Moran held on for the final six laps to score his 10th career World of Outlaws triumph — one worth $8,000.

“This track was just really tricky tonight,” Moran said. “I just went in there and did what I thought I could do to get by (McCreadie). I felt like I was pretty clear. I don’t know if I was or not.

“But Timmy is a really good racer, and I drove hard when I got by him because I was sure he was on my heels.”

McCreadie crossed the line second after leading the first 19 laps. Chris Madden followed in third, with Ryan Gustin in fourth, and Ricky Thornton, Jr. in fifth.

The World of Outlaws CASE Late Models return to action on Friday, January 20, for night two of Sunshine Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park. For more information, visit

World of Outlaws CASE Late Model Series
Volusia Speedway Park – Barberville, FL
Sunshine Nationals Night 1 – January 19, 2023

1. 99-Devin Moran
2. 39-Tim McCreadie
3. 44-Chris Madden
4. 19R-Ryan Gustin
5. 20RT-Ricky Thornton, Jr.
6. 8-Brian Shirley
7. 40B-Kyle Bronson
8. 9-Nick Hoffman
9. 1-Hudson O’Neal
10. B5-Brandon Sheppard
11. 111-Max Blair
12. 22*-Payton Freeman
13. 96V-Tanner English
14. 5-Mark Whitener
15. 99JR-Frank Heckenast, Jr.
16. 97-Cade Dillard
17. 28-Dennis Erb, Jr.
18. B1-Brent Larson
19. 20-Jimmy Owens
20. 1ST-Johnny Scott
21. 99B-Boom Briggs
22. 25-Shane Clanton
23. 11-Gordy Gundaker
24. 22-Will Roland
25. 32-Bobby Pierce
26. 114-Jordan Koehler

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, WoO Late Model Tour, WoO
© Copyright 2023
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.