Tuesday February 7th, 2023 2:36AM

Logan Seavey uncatchable in Chili Bowl Friday qualifying

By Bryan Hulbert
  Contact Editor

TULSA, Okla. - Logan Seavey took the lead on the opening lap, and sailed his Swindell SpeedLap mount to victory lane in Friday night’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals qualifier at Oklahoma’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

“It’s even more special to do it with Kevin (Swindell),” said Seavey, who locked himself into Saturday night’s A-Main with the win. “He’s obviously one of the best to ever race here, so for him to come back ten years later since he’s won with his own car and have so much speed right away is something. For me, to put together a good night, it’s been a while, and it’s been over a year since I’ve won a Midget race, so to do it with him especially, it gets my confidence back where it needs to be.”

It marks the second preliminary night win Seavey’s career and the first as a car owner for Kevin Swindell, who won the event as a driver from 2010-2013. Seavey’s previous win was for Keith Kunz in 2019.

Seavey kept a quick pace over the race for second in a race that saw its share of spills. The race went under the red flag on lap 8, when Ethan Mitchell ended up hung in the fence after contact while battling with Justin Grant.

Seavey took the win by 0.516 seconds over Justin Grant, who is also locked into Saturday night’s big race with his second place finish.

Chase McDermand followed in third, with Zeb Wise in fourth, and Jason McDougal in fifth.

Ace McCarthy, Jace Park, Brian Carber, Clinton Boyles, and Bryant Wiedeman rounded out the top 10.

The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl nationals wraps up with Saturday’s Championship Night. For more information, visit

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals
Tulsa Expo Raceway – Tulsa, OK
Hard Rock Casino Qualifying Night – January 13, 2023

1. 39-Logan Seavey*
2. 2J-Justin Grant*
3. 40M-Chase McDermand
4. 26R-Zeb Wise
5. 47X-Jason McDougal
6. 28-Ace McCarthy
7. 87-Jace Park
8. 19-Brian Carber
9. 11B-Clinton Boyles
10. 01-Bryant Wiedeman
11. 21-Daryn Pittman
12. 14M-Michael Faccinto
13. 11A-Andrew Felker
14. 00B-Braden Chiaramonte
15. 19B-Alex Bright
16. 3G-Kyle Cummins
17. 68W-Matt Mitchell
18. 95-Chris Andrews
19. 97-Brenham Crouch-DNF
20. 57A-Shane Cottle-DNF
21. 17B-Austin Barnhill-DNF
22. 23K-Kyle Simon-DNF
23. 19M-Ethan Mitchell-DNF
24. 45H-Briggs Danner-DNF

*Top 2 advance to Saturday’s A-Feature

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Midgets, Chili Bowl
© Copyright 2023
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.