Wednesday September 28th, 2022 11:15AM

Scott McLaughlin fastest to grab Nashville IndyCar pole

By IndyCar Media
  Contact Editor

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Scott McLaughlin won the pole for the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix on Saturday, grabbing his second career pole on his last flying lap in the Firestone Fast Six.

McLaughlin’s best lap was 1 minute, 14.5555 seconds in the No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet on the 11-turn, 2.1-mile temporary street circuit that includes two trips per lap over the Korean War Veterans Memorial Bridge. The pole came after McLaughlin led practice earlier in the day at 1:15.4609.

“The car was phenomenal,” McLaughlin said. “We did that on one lap, used tires. One of those good laps.”

The start of qualifying was delayed by 90 minutes due to thunderstorms and lightning that rumbled through downtown Nashville during the afternoon. The rain changed the grip level of the tricky, bumpy street circuit.

McLaughlin’s previous pole came this February at the season-opening Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, which he won from the top spot for his first career series victory. He also won The Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio in early July from the second starting spot.

“Tell you what, this DEX car is really good, man,” McLaughlin said. “We’ve been going really fast in this car. Won the St. Pete opener with it. Won Mid-Ohio and now we’re pole at Nashville, which is an amazing racetrack.”

Romain Grosjean will join McLaughlin on the front row for Sunday’s race after his best lap of 1:14.6975. It marked the best qualifying effort of the season for the Frenchman, whose previous-best start was fifth in the season opener at St. Petersburg.

Rookie Christian Lundgaard continued his impressive weekend by qualifying a career-best third at 1:14.7149. The Dane’s previous-best start was fourth last August in the road race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Lundgaard, who led practice Friday, came to Nashville after earning a career-best second-place finish last Saturday on the IMS road course.

Joining Lundgaard in row 2 is reigning series champion Alex Palou, who qualified fourth at 1:14.9087.

Pato O’Ward qualified fifth at 1:14.9261. Nashville-area native Josef Newgarden rounded out the Firestone Fast Six at 1:15.1461.

Newgarden made an interesting gamble that didn’t pay off. He was the only driver in the Firestone Fast Six to qualify on Firestone primary tires. The other five drivers used Firestone alternate tires, which this weekend are constructed with rubber derived from the drought-resistant guayule shrub native to the American Southwest. The primary tire lasts longer but isn’t as grippy as the alternate tire.

Still, Newgarden, O’Ward and Palou are the trio among the top six drivers in the series standings who will start the treacherous street race from the first three rows. Points leader Will Power, 2022 Indianapolis 500 winner Marcus Ericsson and six-time series champion Scott Dixon weren’t so lucky.

Power, who leads Ericsson by nine points with four races to go, will start eighth. He lost his quickest lap of the second round of qualifying, which would have advanced him into the Firestone Fast Six, when he was penalized for causing a local yellow that affected the lap of the trailing O’Ward late in that session. Power ran long into a run-off area.

“It’s always tough in quali with track position and penalties and getting caught by reds (flags),” Power said. “That’s just the way it is. It’s hard.”

Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Dixon and Ericsson didn’t make it out of the first round of qualifying. Dixon will start 14th as he pursues his record-tying seventh season championship.

Ericsson will start 18th in the 26-car field. But he can take heart knowing he won the inaugural race on this circuit last year from the same starting spot.

“We need to come up with a good strategy and play the race how it comes,” Ericsson said. “There have been a lot of incidents this weekend, again like last year. I think there are still going to be opportunities. We’re just lacking a bit too much speed at the moment.”

Live coverage of the 80-lap race starts at 3 p.m. ET Sunday on NBC and the INDYCAR Radio Network.

NTT IndyCar Series
Streets of Nashville – Nashville, TN
Big Machine Music City Grand Prix – August 6, 2022

Saturday’s Qualifying Results

1. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 01:14.5555 (101.401)
2. (28) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 01:14.6975 (101.208)
3. (30) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 01:14.7149 (101.185)
4. (10) Alex Palou, Honda, 01:14.9087 (100.923)
5. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 01:14.9261 (100.899)
6. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 01:15.1461 (100.604)
7. (18) David Malukas, Honda, 01:14.9616 (100.852)
8. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet, 01:14.9818 (100.824)
9. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 01:15.3112 (100.383)
10. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 01:15.3897 (100.279)
11. (45) Jack Harvey, Honda, 01:15.9758 (99.505)
12. (4) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 01:16.5600 (98.746)
13. (60) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 01:19.4039 (95.209)
14. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda, 01:15.3179 (100.375)
15. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 01:21.1784 (93.128)
16. (14) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 01:15.4382 (100.214)
17. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 01:21.4579 (92.809)
18. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 01:15.4501 (100.199)
19. (77) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 01:57.6982 (64.232)
20. (51) Takuma Sato, Honda, 01:15.5935 (100.009)
21. (16) Simona De Silvestro, Chevrolet, No Time (No Speed)
22. (20) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 01:16.3955 (98.959)
23. (26) Colton Herta, Honda, No Time (No Speed)
24. (06) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 01:16.5898 (98.708)
25. (29) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, No Time (No Speed)
26. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 01:17.5888 (97.437)

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, IndyCar, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Asphalt, Street Course, NTT IndyCar Series
© Copyright 2022
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.