Tuesday August 9th, 2022 3:13PM

Rossi wins at Indianapolis to end three year dry spell

By IndyCar Media
  Contact Editor

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The drought finally is over for Alexander Rossi.

Rossi won on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course to snap a 49-race winless streak, earning his first victory since capturing the NTT IndyCar Series race June 23, 2019 at Road America, 1,133 days ago. This was Rossi’s eighth career victory.

“It’s a relief, man,” Rossi said. “It’s been so many things for so long. Thankfully something came our way.”

Andretti Autosport driver Rossi crossed the finish line in his No. 27 Honda 3.5441 seconds ahead of rookie Christian Lundgaard, who earned a career-best second place.

Will Power finished third in the 85-lap race and took the series points lead with just four races remaining. Power holds a nine-point lead over Marcus Ericsson, who rallied from starting last in the 25-car field to finish 11th.

Team Penske ended up with all three of its drivers in the top five. Scott McLaughlin finished fourth, with Josef Newgarden fifth.

Rossi, who started second, took the lead for good on lap 42 when leader and teammate Colton Herta lost drive after navigating turn 8 on the 11-turn, 2.439-mile road course. Herta was able to coast to the entry of the pit lane, but his race was over. He was credited with 24th place.

The mechanical problem was a cruel twist of fate for Herta, who started ninth and drove to the lead by lap 8, passing pole sitter Felix Rosenqvist in turn 7. Herta and Rossi emerged as the class of the field as the early laps unfolded, with rival teams unsuccessfully trying multiple strategies to neuter their advantage.

“I do feel for Colton, I do,” Rossi said. “I think he was definitely strong. We had pretty much the same race car. It would have been interesting. I don’t want to take away anything from what he did from ninth. To get to that position was incredible. But it was the 27’s turn. That’s awesome.”

Once Herta was out of the race, Rossi built a steady gap of around four seconds to Lundgaard. The Danish rookie made things interesting late in the race, closing to within 2.7 seconds with 10 laps remaining.

But Rossi pulled away over the closing laps for a decisive win, ending Lundgaard’s chance of becoming the first rookie to win a series race since Rossi shocked the racing world with his victory in the 2016 Indianapolis 500.

“At the end of the third stint, I was catching Alex,” Lundgaard said. “I was really hoping because every pit stop we always caught up. We lost a bit in the beginning of the stint. The Andretti car had just so much better power down than we did today. That’s what killed our rear tires, and we struggled on the long run.

“The result speaks for itself. Coming in this weekend, we knew we had a strong car.”

Rossi, who led 44 laps, will split $10,000 with his team and his chosen charities, AutoNation’s Drive Pink Campaign and Leilani Mae Horse Rescue, for the victory as part of the PeopleReady Force for Good Challenge.

Power once again produced a composed drive, overcoming early near-calamity, to take the points lead. Power made contact with Pato O’Ward in a three-wide traffic jam in turns 1 and 2 on the first lap and also had an early dustup with Helio Castroneves, finding himself in 16th in the early laps.

But Power calmly drove through the field to earn his seventh podium finish of the season.

“A great recovery, man,” Power said. “You can never expect a normal day in IndyCar. Everyone is very aggressive, and it’s so hard to win in this series. It’s the toughest series in the world. Great job by the Verizon 5G guys. It’s amazing we can go back there and recover all the way to third.”

Less than a race worth of points separates Power from fifth-place O’Ward, who is 46 back. Newgarden is third, 32 out of the lead. Scott Dixon, who finished eighth, is 38 points back in fourth.

NTT IndyCar Series
Indianapolis Motor Speedway – Indianapolis, IN
Gallagher Grand Prix – July 30, 2022

1. (2) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 85, Running
2. (6) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 85, Running
3. (4) Will Power, Chevrolet, 85, Running
4. (15) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 85, Running
5. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 85, Running
6. (8) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 85, Running
7. (17) Graham Rahal, Honda, 85, Running
8. (20) Scott Dixon, Honda, 85, Running
9. (1) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 85, Running
10. (7) Alex Palou, Honda, 85, Running
11. (25) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 85, Running
12. (3) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 85, Running
13. (11) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Running
14. (19) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 85, Running
15. (18) Takuma Sato, Honda, 85, Running
16. (22) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 85, Running
17. (10) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 85, Running
18. (14) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 85, Running
19. (16) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 85, Running
20. (13) Jack Harvey, Honda, 85, Running
21. (24) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 84, Running
22. (23) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 84, Running
23. (21) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 84, Running
24. (9) Colton Herta, Honda, 42, Mechanical
25. (12) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 34, Off Course

Winner’s Average Speed: 114.483 mph

Time of Race: 01:48:39.1825 Margin of Victory: 3.5441 seconds

Cautions: 2 for 5 laps

Lead Changes: 5 among 5 drivers

Lap Leaders: Rosenqvist 1-7; Herta 8-13; McLaughlin 14-23; Power 24-30; Herta 31-41; Rossi 42-85.

Point Standings: Power 431, Ericsson 422, Newgarden 399, Dixon 393, O’Ward 385, Palou 379, McLaughlin 350, Rossi 318, Rosenqvist 299, Herta 285, VeeKay 282, Rahal 274, Pagenaud 262, Grosjean 259, Lundgaard 248, Daly 236, Malukas 221, Castroneves 207, Sato 199, Ilott 166, Johnson 166, Harvey 158, DeFrancesco 151, Kirkwood 133, Kellett 103, Tony Kanaan 78, Santino Ferrucci 71, Ed Carpenter 67, Tatiana Calderon 58, JR Hildebrand 53, Juan Pablo Montoya 44, Simona De Silvestro 21, Marco Andretti 17, Sage Karam 14, Stefan Wilson 10.

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, IndyCar, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Asphalt, road course, Indianapolis, NTT IndyCar Series
© Copyright 2022 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.