Wednesday August 10th, 2022 2:13AM

Payne beats rain for Southern Nationals Tri-County win

By Ryan Delph
  Contact Editor

BRASSTOWN, N.C. - David Payne emerged victorious on Thursday evening in a rain-shortened Schaeffer’s Oil Southern National Series race at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, North Carolina.

The Murphy, North Carolina racer jumped to the lead on the opening lap, and was on the point when heavy rains began to fall on the ¼-mile clay track with 27 laps complete3d.

With the deluge, series and track personnel had no choice but to call the race official since it had reached the halfway mark, with Payne declared the winner. It marked his third career series win, and gave him a $7,553 payday.

Evans, Georgia’s Brandon Overton followed in second, with Commerce, Georgia’s Payton Freeman in third, Wil Herrington in fourth, and Spencer Diercks in fifth.

A total of four yellow flags flew over the field during the shortened race prior to rain halting the action. The initial start of the contest was called back before a second caution flag on lap nine waved for a slowing Jensen Ford. A multi-car incident then took place on the following restart prior to Joe Denby winding up in the turn four wall working on lap 28. While track staff was removing Denby’s car from the racing surface, the skies opened up and the event was deemed official.

The series was next slated to compete at Georgia’s Boyd’s Speedway on Friday night, but heavy rainfall overnight and the high threat of more throughout the day led series and track officials to cancel the event. It will not be rescheduled.

That puts all attention on Saturday night’s 2022 series finale at Tennessee’s Tazewell Speedway. For more information, visit

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series
Tri-County Race Track – Brasstown, NC
Round 10 – July 28, 2022

1. (2) David Payne $7,553
2. (4) Brandon Overton $3,000
3. (1) Payton Freeman $2,000
4. (7) Wil Herrington $1,500
5. (3) Spencer Diercks $1,000
6. (6) Dalton Cook $800
7. (5) Kenny Collins $700
8. (8) John Henderson $600
9. (10) Dakotah Knuckles $575
10. (19) Will Roland $550
11. (9) Jamie Oliver $530
12. (12) Cory Hedgecock $520
13. (21) Danny Ledford $510
14. (13) Jensen Ford $500
15. (18) Parker Martin $490
16. (22) Tucker Anderson $480
17. (11) Brenden Smith $470
18. (16) Joe Denby $460
19. (17) Ryan Wilson $450
20. (14) Galen Robinson $450
21. (15) Shawn Chastain $450
22. (20) Drew Deaver $450

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Southern Nationals Series
© Copyright 2022
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.