Wednesday August 10th, 2022 1:22AM

Davenport soars to Hawkeye 50 victory at Boone

By Mike Warren
  Contact Editor

Jonathan Davenport powered to the lead on the third lap of Monday night’s Hawkeye 50 at Iowa’s Boone Speedway.

From there, the Blairsville, Georgia speedster cruised through the final 47 laps to score his third World of Outlaws CASE Late Model Series win of the season.

“The car was really, really good from where we unloaded off the trailer,” Davenport said after recording the $20,000 feature. “We just made some good, educated guesses since we couldn’t put the finger on what this place reminded us of. We were just going back and forth to three or four different tracks and trying to put everything together.

“I just was feeling the track before we took the green and that there was a little more grip up in the crumbs. There wasn’t quite a cushion, but there were some crumbs up top and some grip there.”

Davenport was surprised how quick the surface changed in just a few laps — a change leading to his pass for the lead.

“It slicked off in like one lap, it was crazy,” Davenport said. “We just happened to turn to the bottom, and (early leader Tyler Bruening) went right through that slick and about looped it.

“We were fortunate to get by him, and we just kind of cruised from there.”

The victory is Davenport’s 13th win of his series career.

Dennis Erb, Jr. finished in second, with Mike Marlar in third, Bruening in fourth, and Bobby Pierce in fifth.

Devin Moran, Tanner English, Ryan Gustin, Zebulon, Georgia’s Shane Clanton, and Max Blair rounded out the top 10.

The World of Outlaws CASE Late Model Series returns to action at Illinois’ Fairbury Speedway on Friday-Saturday, July 29-30. Visit WorldofOutlaws.com for more information.

WoO CASE Late Model Series
Boone Speedway – Boone, IA
Race Results – July 25, 2022

1. 49-Jonathan Davenport
2. 28-Dennis Erb, Jr.
3. 157-Mike Marlar
4. 16-Tyler Bruening
5. 32-Bobby Pierce
6. 9-Devin Moran
7. 81E-Tanner English
8. 19R-Ryan Gustin
9. 25-Shane Clanton
10. 111V-Max Blair
11. 20-Jimmy Owens
12. B1-Brent Larson
13. 1-Josh Richards
14. 11-Gordy Gundaker
15. 3S-Brian Shirley
16. 20RT-Ricky Thornton, Jr.
17. 11T-Trevor Gundaker
18. 22-Daniel Hilsabeck
19. 40B-Kyle Bronson
20. 25F-Jason Feger
21. 99B-Boom Briggs
22. 99JR-Frank Heckenast, Jr.
23. 8-Kyle Strickler

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, WoO Late Model Tour, WoO, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2022 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.