Wednesday May 18th, 2022 11:30AM

Overton owns East Alabama with Spring Nationals win

By Ryan Delph
  Contact Editor

PHENIX CITY, Ala. - Brandon Overton drove to his third win of the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series season on Saturday night at East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, Alabama.

The Evans, Georgia racer picked up a $10,053 payday for the win in the Jimmy Thomas Memorial at the 3/8 mile high-banked clay oval.

Overton started the 53-lap feature form the outside of the front row, and stalked early leader Tim McCreadie for the opening 19 laps.

After taking the lead on lap 20, Overton held the point the rest of the way en route to the victory.

“Hats off to everyone at EAMS, you know I love racing here,” said Overton. “If they wouldn’t have reworked the track prior to the feature, the first 20 laps would have been no good at all. I’ve been coming here since I was 13 and we are just now starting to get a grip on this place. I was still a little tight in the rubber, but I’m good in the middle stages to get position on them. I want to thank my crew, want to thank all of my sponsors, and thank these great fans for coming out – I sure do appreciate it.”

Ashton Winger followed in second, with Michael Page in third, Garrett Smith flexed in fourth, and Carson Ferguson jockeyed in fifth.

Pearson Lee Williams, Austin Horton, Sam Seawright, McCreadie, and Wil Herrington rounded out the top 10.

Next up is Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Championship weekend with three events scheduled for the states of Georgia and Tennessee.

The weekend opens at Georgia’s Lavonia Speedway on that Friday, May 27, followed by a trip to Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Georgia on Saturday, May 28. The series then crowns a Champion in the finale on Sunday at Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, Tennessee.

For more information, visit

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series
East Alabama Motor Speedway – Phenix City, AL
Jimmy Thomas Memorial – May 7, 2022

1. (2) Brandon Overton $10,053
2. (15) Ashton Winger $5,000
3. (3) Michael Page $2,500
4. (4) Garrett Smith $1,800
5. (5) Carson Ferguson $1,250
6. (18) Pearson Lee Williams $900
7. (7) Austin Horton $800
8. (8) Sam Seawright $700
9. (1) Tim McCreadie $675
10. (9) Wil Herrington $650
11. (17) Chad Thrash $625
12. (12) Joseph Joiner $600
13. (20) Bo Slay $575
14. (19) J.R. Moseley $550
15. (22) Joe Denby $525
16. (13) Payton Freeman $500
17. (21) Cla Knight $500
18. (14) Dylan Knowles $500
19. (11) Jordy Nipper $500
20. (10) Shane Clanton $500
21. (6) Ricky Weiss $500
22. (16) Dalton Cook $500

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Southern Nationals Series, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2022
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.