Saturday April 1st, 2023 12:21AM

Georgia’s Brock Bowers wins John Mackey Award

By Georgia Sports Communications

ATHENS, Ga. — Georgia sophomore Brock Bowers won the 2022 John Mackey Award given to college football’s top tight end, according to an announcement during the virtual Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show Thursday night.

Bowers, a native of Napa, Calif., is Georgia’s first winner of the Mackey Award.

In addition, the following Bulldogs were named to the Walter Camp All-America Team during the show: First Team – junior defensive lineman Jalen Carter, senior safety Christopher Smith; Second Team – Bowers.

Bowers is the team leader with 52 catches for 726 yards and six touchdowns.  He also has six carries for 93 yards and three scores.  In addition, Bowers has been a pivotal blocker for a Bulldog offense that averages 207 yards on the ground and has allowed only seven sacks to quarterback Stetson Bennett, including none in the last six games.

Bowers was an All-SEC First Team selection on Tuesday, was a Rotary Lombardi Award finalist and was named to the College Sports Communicators Academic All-District team.

The top-seeded Bulldogs (13-0, 8-0 SEC) take on No. 4 Ohio State (11-1, 8-1 Big 10) in the College Football Playoff Semifinal Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl in Atlanta on Dec. 31.  ESPN will televise the matchup.

  • Associated Categories: Sports
  • Associated Tags: Georgia football
© Copyright 2023
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.
State Finals: Hughes holds off Red Elephants in 6A title game
Even as the clock ticked down on Gainesville’s season -- and attempt to win its first state title in a decade -- it was hard to find much to critique Friday night at Center Parc Stadium...
11:30PM ( 11 hours ago )
Freeman to vie for WoO LMS Rookie of the Year in 2023
After a learning curve with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals, Payton Freeman is taking a step forward in 2023. The Commerce, Georgia driver will join the World of Outlaws...
2:17PM ( 20 hours ago )
Video: Josh, Sky Niblett answer some tough questions
Gainesville Red Elephants football coach Josh Niblett and his son Sky, a junior tight end on the team, sat down with AccessWDUN's Bo Wilson and Seth Chapman to answer questions on the eve of Gainesville's showdown with Langston Hughes for the Class 6A title...
11:45AM ( 22 hours ago )
CFB: Smart named SEC Coach of the Year; Podlesney gets award
Kirby Smart is the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year.
By AccessWDUN Staff
9:45PM ( 2 days ago )
Heisman Watch: UGA QB Stetson Bennett named Heisman finalist
Quarterbacks Stetson Bennett of Georgia, Max Duggan of TCU, C.J. Stroud of Ohio State and Caleb Williams of Southern California were announced as finalists for the Heisman Trophy on Monday night.
By Eric Olson AP College Football Writer
7:17PM ( 4 days ago )
Georgia rolls to SEC title win over LSU
The Bulldogs blew past LSU to win the SEC championship Saturday night
8:00PM ( 6 days ago )
No. 1 Georgia routs Jackets despite slow start
Stetson Bennett threw two touchdown passes and No. 1 Georgia completed back-to-back undefeated regular seasons for the first time in school history by overcoming a slow start to beat Georgia Tech 37-14 on Saturday...
By Charles Odum AP Sports Writer
4:39PM ( 1 week ago )
Vince Dooley celebration of life set for Friday, Nov. 25
Georgia will honor former head football coach and director of athletics Vince Dooley on Friday.
By AccessWDUN Staff
2:00PM ( 2 weeks ago )