Saturday December 2nd, 2023 7:09PM

Allmendinger edges Mayer for Talladega Xfinity victory

By Holly Cain-NASCAR Wire Service

Three times A.J. Allmendinger has led the white flag lap on a superspeedway track and not been able to lead that next lap to earn the big trophy.

On Saturday, the veteran waited and pulled ahead of the field in the final feet coming to the Sparks 300 checkered flag at Talladega Superspeedway and edged 19-year old Sam Mayer by .015-second – about three feet – in a photo finish to earn his first NASCAR Xfinity Series win at NASCAR’s biggest track.

It marked Allmendinger’s fourth victory in the No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet this season and first ever at a superspeedway venue. Most importantly, the win – coming in the second race of the opening round of the Playoffs – is an automatic ticket through to the next round of Xfinity Series Playoff competition.

“Gosh, we’ve been so close to winning one (superspeedway race) and I feel like I keep giving them away,” said Allmendinger. “Thought I might have given it away. I’m still learning, trying to know what too big of a lead is. But honestly, all credit to (Kaulig teammate) Landon Cassill.

“He kept shoving me. He stuck with me. That’s what is great about Kaulig Racing, when you have teammates like Landon and Daniel (Hemric) that you know wherever you go, they’ll go with you. So thank you Landon.”

“Man, I just wanted to win a superspeedway and finally got it,” added Allmendinger, who now claims 14 career Xfinity Series victories.

Cassill finished third, followed by Tucker, Georgia’s Ryan Sieg, and Josh Berry – all Playoff contenders. Parker Kligerman was sixth, followed by Playoff drivers Ty Gibbs, Daniel Hemric, Atlanta, Georgia’s Brandon Jones, and Noah Gragson.

It marked quite the comeback for Gibbs, who qualified on the front row, but was involved in the only on-track yellow flag for an incident on the afternoon. Gibbs was tagged from behind by Justin Allgaier while racing in a tight pack up front only three laps into the 113 lap race. Gibbs spun out but was remarkably untouched by any other car.

A quick pit stop and impressive pit strategy later, Gibbs was running around the top 10 in the closing laps of the race and managed to recover to that seventh place final effort.

Gragson was looking to become the first driver in NASCAR Xfinity Series history to win five consecutive races and was running among the top three with 10 laps to go.

His ultimate move forward for the win in the closing laps was blocked and he instead finished 10th. Although just short of that historic victory nod, he had already earned his automatic ticket to the Playoffs second round by virtue of his victory last week at Texas.

“We’re going to keep it going,” Gragson said after the race. “I have a super motivated team… you want to win them all, but you can’t do that sometimes.”

Polesitter and series rookie Austin Hill of Winston, Georgia, who swept the two stage wins and for the second straight race led the most laps – 60 on Saturday – also dropped out of the lead group in the waning laps to the checkered flag. He finished 14th.

With Allmendinger and Gragson having earned automatic bids in ton the next round of the Playoffs, Gibbs (-21) and Hill (-27) are ranked third and fourth in the standings, followed by Berry, Allgaier – who finished 15th Saturday – Mayer and Sieg in the eighth and final transfer position.

Defending series champion Hemric (-6), Brandon Jones (-10), Riley Herbst (-10) and Jeremy Clements (-47) are ranked ninth through 12th heading into the final race of this Playoff round.

NASCAR Xfinity Series
Talladega Superspeedway – Talladega, AL
Sparks 300 – October 1, 2022

1. (8) A.J. Allmendinger (P), Chevrolet, 113.
2. (13) Sam Mayer (P), Chevrolet, 113.
3. (18) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet, 113.
4. (14) Ryan Sieg (P), Ford, 113.
5. (7) Josh Berry (P), Chevrolet, 113.
6. (9) Parker Kligerman(i), Chevrolet, 113.
7. (2) Ty Gibbs (P), Toyota, 113.
8. (12) Daniel Hemric (P), Chevrolet, 113.
9. (5) Brandon Jones (P), Toyota, 113.
10. (6) Noah Gragson (P), Chevrolet, 113.
11. (23) Riley Herbst (P), Ford, 113.
12. (3) Sheldon Creed #, Chevrolet, 113.
13. (11) Trevor Bayne, Toyota, 113.
14. (1) Austin Hill # (P), Chevrolet, 113.
15. (4) Justin Allgaier (P), Chevrolet, 113.
16. (20) Anthony Alfredo, Chevrolet, 113.
17. (16) Jeb Burton, Chevrolet, 113.
18. (35) J.J. Yeley, Chevrolet, 113.
19. (30) Josh Williams, Chevrolet, 113.
20. (37) Jeremy Clements (P), Chevrolet, 113.
21. (25) Joey Gase, Ford, 113.
22. (19) Joe Graf, Jr., Ford, 113.
23. (26) Derek Griffith, Toyota, 113.
24. (24) Bayley Currey, Chevrolet, 112.
25. (33) David Starr, Ford, 112.
26. (32) B.J. McLeod, Chevrolet, 112.
27. (36) Timmy Hill(i), Chevrolet, 112.
28. (22) Jesse Iwuji #, Chevrolet, 112.
29. (28) C.J. McLaughlin, Ford, 112.
30. (10) Ryan Vargas, Chevrolet, 112.
31. (31) Caesar Bacarella, Chevrolet, 112.
32. (34) Howie Disavino III, Chevrolet, 112.
33. (17) Brandon Brown, Chevrolet, 112.
34. (38) Mike Harmon, Chevrolet, 111.
35. (21) Myatt Snider, Chevrolet, 111.
36. (15) Blaine Perkins(i), Chevrolet, 110.
37. (27) Jeffrey Earnhardt, Ford, 109.
38. (29) Mason Massey, Chevrolet, 95.

Average Speed of Race Winner: 158.827 mph.

Time of Race: 1 Hrs, 53 Mins, 33 Secs. Margin of Victory: 0.015 Seconds.

Caution Flags: 3 for 11 laps.

Lead Changes: 20 among 11 drivers.

Lap Leaders: A. Hill # (P) 1-7;J. Allgaier (P) 8-13;A. Hill # (P) 14-26;T. Hill(i) 27;A. Hill # (P) 28-30;T. Bayne (P) 31-40;S. Creed # 41-42;A. Hill # (P) 43-51;B. Currey 52;T. Bayne (P) 53-55;N. Gragson (P) 56;B. Jones (P) 57;R. Sieg (P) 58;A. Allmendinger (P) 59;R. Sieg (P) 60-69;B. Currey 70-80;A. Hill # (P) 81-108;S. Mayer (P) 109-110;A. Allmendinger (P) 111;S. Mayer (P) 112;A. Allmendinger (P) 113.

Leaders Summary: (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led) Austin Hill # (P) 5 times for 60 laps; Trevor Bayne (P) 2 times for 13 laps; Bayley Currey 2 times for 12 laps; Ryan Sieg (P) 2 times for 11 laps; Justin Allgaier (P) 1 time for 6 laps; AJ Allmendinger (P) 3 times for 3 laps; Sam Mayer (P) 2 times for 3 laps; Sheldon Creed # 1 time for 2 laps; Timmy Hill(i) 1 time for 1 lap; Brandon Jones (P) 1 time for 1 lap; Noah Gragson (P) 1 time for 1 lap.

Stage #1 Top Ten: 21,2,11,19,18,16,7,54,68,1

Stage #2 Top Ten: 21,7,16,18,27,1,68,19,39,8

Playoff Standings: 1. A.J. Allmendinger* – 2134 (4 Wins); 2. Noah Gragson* – 2134 (7 Wins); 3. Ty Gibbs – 2113 (5 Wins); 4. Austin Hill – 2107 (2 Wins); 5. Josh Berry – 2091 (2 Wins); 6. Justin Allgaier – 2089 (3 Wins); 7. Sam Mayer – 2076; 8. Ryan Sieg – 2070; 9. Daniel Hemric – 2064; 10. Riley Herbst – 2060; 11. Brandon Jones – 2060 (1 Win); 12. Jeremy Clements – 2023 (1 Win).

*Locked Into The Round of 8

(i) Ineligible for driver points in this series, (P) Playoff driver

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Xfinity Series
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, xfinity series, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Asphalt, Motorsports Live On WDUN
© Copyright 2023
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.