Sunday September 26th, 2021 3:27AM

Palou seizes IndyCar Series lead with Portland victory

By IndyCar Media
  Contact Editor

PORTLAND, Ore. - Ten laps into the Grand Prix of Portland, Alex Palou was running in 16th place after starting from the pole, and his NTT IndyCar Series championship hopes were in a heap of trouble.

Fast-forward 100 laps, and Palou earned his series-best third victory this season and has a 25-point lead in the championship standings with just two races remaining.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner for second-year NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver Palou, who celebrates victories with a meal of fried chicken.

“We kept our heads down, and we knew the race was really long,” Palou said. “I cannot believe it. We made it (on fuel). The guys made it. They just gave me the numbers, and we just follow it. The strategy was amazing.”

NTT P1 Award winner Palou overcame losing positions from the anticipated snarl in turns 1 through 3 on the opening lap at Portland International Raceway. Ht then used a combination of impeccable driving in the No. 10 PNC and smart pit strategy from Chip Ganassi Racing to beat Alexander Rossi the finish by 1.2895 seconds.

Reigning series champion Scott Dixon finished third to keep his hopes alive for a record-tying seventh title.

Jack Harvey finished fourth, with championship contender Josef Newgarden fifth.

Palou leads Pato O’Ward by 25 points with the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey on Sunday, September 19 and the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach on Sunday, September 26 remaining in the 2021 season. O’Ward led 28 laps early in the race but faded in the second half, finishing 14th.

Two-time series champion Newgarden is third in the standings, 34 points behind Palou. Dixon is fourth, 49 points behind the leader, and Marcus Ericsson is fifth, 75 points back. Ericsson finished seventh.

“I don’t care that much about the points at this moment,” Palou said. “I think the race we did today, it’s just amazing. Not me, but the guys, with the strategy, with the pit stops, with everything. With all the bad luck we had, we still won. I’m proud about that. Fried chicken tonight!”

Two races remain in the season, with a maximum of 54 points available at each.

Palou took the lead for good on lap 86 when Ericsson made his final pit stop from the top spot. The Spaniard never was threatened by Rossi down the stretch despite two restarts, inexorably expanding his lead lap by lap on the Firestone primary “black” tires, which have more durability than the Firestone alternate “red” tires that Andretti Autosport fastened to Rossi’s car on his final stop.

“It was a big fight, for sure,” Rossi said. “(Palou) did a good job, he didn’t make any mistakes. The red tires have a peak that’s a little bit better, but they certainly have a bit more fall-off, which is what they’re supposed to do. That’s the beauty of IndyCar racing with the different strategies.”

The march to victory by Palou seemed almost unthinkable after the chaos that unfolded at the start of the race in the tight right-left chicane in turn 1, one of the most fraught flashpoints in the NTT IndyCar Series.

Palou and Dixon both overshot turns 1 and 2 of the three-turn chicane at the end of the front straight after Dixon’s car was nudged from behind by Felix Rosenqvist, who also went wide in turn 1 along with Colton Herta and others.

Neither Palou nor Dixon suffered damage in the melee that triggered the first of four caution periods in the race. But five drivers in the mid-pack and rear of the field – Will Power, Romain Grosjean, Oliver Askew, James Hinchcliffe and Helio Castroneves – all were forced to the pits or paddock for repairs after contact in the fracas. Hinchcliffe was unable to continue.

IndyCar rules state that cars avoiding the collision and remaining on the racing surface at the timing lines embedded in the track through the chicane are placed at the front of the field on the restart, with drivers avoiding the collision but leaving the racetrack placed behind them, followed by drivers involved in the incident.

That caused a massive reshuffle of the order, as O’Ward and Rahal claimed first and second on the restart on lap 11 because they stayed on track and clean in the first-lap incident. Meanwhile, Palou was moved to 16th, Dixon 17th, Rosenqvist 18th, Rossi 19th, Newgarden 21st and Herta 22nd for the restart after IndyCar officials reviewed timing loop data, and those drivers’ long road back toward the front began.

Palou, Dixon, Herta and Rossi were among the drivers who pitted under yellow on lap 9. Those stops triggered a tactical battle of varying fuel and pit strategies for the rest of the race, as teams and drivers decided whether to overcut or undercut rivals with fast pit-in and pit-out laps and perfectly executed stops.

O’Ward stayed out front until he made his first pit stop on lap 29, handing the lead to Graham Rahal. Various pit cycles thrust Ed Jones, Harvey, Dixon and Palou into short stints out front before Rahal took control of the race on lap 44.

Rahal maintained a lead of around 2.5 seconds over O’Ward until rookie Callum Ilott and Dalton Kellett both slowed on track in separate spots on lap 51, triggering the second caution period of the race on lap 52.

While a handful of drivers pitted, Rahal elected to stay out and led until lap 74, when he and second-place Jones pitted to hand the lead to Harvey.

Pit cycles then unfolded over the next 12 laps before Palou, who made his final stop on lap 79, one lap before teammate Dixon, took the lead for good on lap 86.

Palou pulled away from Rossi on restarts on lap 89 and lap 92 after brief caution periods and reached the checkered flag leading 29 laps for the race. Rahal led a race-high 36 laps before finishing 10th.

NTT IndyCar Series
Portland International Raceway – Portland, OR
Grand Prix of Portland – September 12, 2021

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 110, Running
2. (2) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 110, Running
3. (3) Scott Dixon, Honda, 110, Running
4. (20) Jack Harvey, Honda, 110, Running
5. (18) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 110, Running
6. (4) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 110, Running
7. (10) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 110, Running
8. (6) Colton Herta, Honda, 110, Running
9. (15) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 110, Running
10. (5) Graham Rahal, Honda, 110, Running
11. (8) Ed Jones, Honda, 110, Running
12. (26) Takuma Sato, Honda, 110, Running
13. (14) Will Power, Chevrolet, 110, Running
14. (7) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 110, Running
15. (27) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 110, Running
16. (16) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 110, Running
17. (25) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 110, Running
18. (12) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 110, Running
19. (11) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 110, Running
20. (22) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 110, Running
21. (23) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 109, Running
22. (21) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 95, Running
23. (17) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 91, Running
24. (9) Oliver Askew, Honda, 89, Contact
25. (19) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 77, Mechanical
26. (24) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 50, Mechanical
27. (13) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 102.011 mph

Time of Race: 02:07:04.1304 Margin of Victory: 1.2895 seconds

Cautions: 4 for 20 laps

Lead changes: 12 among 8 drivers

Lap Leaders: O’Ward, Pato 1-28; Rahal, Graham 29-34; Jones, Ed 35-36; Dixon, Scott 40-42; Palou, Alex 43; Rahal, Graham 44-73; Harvey, Jack 74-75; Palou, Alex 76-78; Dixon, Scott 79; McLaughlin, Scott 80-84; Ericsson, Marcus 85; Palou, Alex 86-110.

Point Standings: Palou 477, O’Ward 452, Newgarden 443, Dixon 428, Ericsson 402, Herta 348, Rahal 342, Power 332, Pagenaud 329, Rossi 299.

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, IndyCar, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Asphalt, road course, NTT IndyCar Series
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.