Saturday July 31st, 2021 8:01AM

Davenport wins CMH Diamond Nationals at Lucas Oil

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

WHEATLAND, Mo. - Jonathan Davenport picked up his third career CMH Diamond Nationals win on Saturday Night at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri.

The Blairsville, Georgia speedster held off late-race charges from both Josh Richards and Kyle Bronson to pick up his sixth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of 2021.

The race was co-sanctioned with the Lucas Oil MLRA.

Davenport had just passed race leader Jimmy Owens coming of off turn two moments before Owens got into the back of a slowing lapped car when he had nowhere to go. Third place driver, Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Georgia, also had nowhere to go in a chain reaction, and got into Owens. Both Owens and Clanton had to pit due to damage, to return on the tail of the lineup.

Richards finished second with Bronson coming home in third. Stormy Scott finished fourth, with Earl Pearson, Jr. in fifth.

“I kind of figured those guys were close to me, this place never did slow down at all,” said Davenport after scoring his 56th career series win. “I was figuring it might get a little black streak or something, but it never did so you had to search around. It was getting a little choppy there past the halfway point, so I had to move around a little bit, from off the bottom. I was a little better through three and four but would come back and hug the bottom off of turn two. I don’t know what happened to Jimmy (Owens) there, he’s had the worst luck in the world this year.”

Davenport closed the gap on points leader Tim McCreadie, who finished 12th in the final rundown after being involved in a lap 42 caution.

Justin Duty, Jimmy Owens, Aaron Marrant, Clanton and Tyler Erb rounded out the top 10.

For more information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, MO
CMH Diamond Nationals – July 17, 2021

Pos Start Car # Competitor Hometown Pay
1 4 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $15,400
2 16 14 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $6,900
3 3 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $3,850
4 1 2S Stormy Scott Las Cruces, NM $3,700
5 6 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $2,900
6 10 15D Justin Duty Happy Valley, OR $2,400
7 2 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,800
8 11 1X Aaron Marrant Richmond, MO $2,200
9 7 25 Shane Clanton Zebulon, GA $2,450
10 21 1T Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $2,350
11 12 22H Daniel Hilsabeck Earlham, IA $1,600
12 9 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,850
13 25 56JR Tony Jackson, Jr. Lebanon, MO $1,300
14 5 91P Jason Papich Nipomo, CA $1,200
15 22 14M Reid Millard Jefferson City, MO $1,050
16 13 41 Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque, IA $1,000
17 18 59 Garrett Alberson Las Cruces, NM $1,000
18 14 11H Spencer Hughes Meridian, MS $1,000
19 8 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,350
20 15 25S Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA $1,000
21 20 93 Mason Oberkramer Broseley, MO $1,000
22 26 3W Brennon Willard Lebanon, MO $1,000
23 19 3S Brian Shirley Chatham, IL $1,000
24 17 20RT Ricky Thornton, Jr. Adel, IA $1,350
25 24 22F Chris Ferguson Mt. Holly, NC $1,000
26 23 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN $1,350
  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lucas Oil Dirt Racing Series, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.