Tuesday June 22nd, 2021 6:57AM

Smith nabs 602 Thunder Series win at Lavonia Speedway

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

It took an extra week thanks to Mother Nature, but David Smith took home top honors on Friday night at Georgia’s Lavonia Speedway.

Smith held out a hard charge from Cody Pritchett to score the win in the 602 Thunder Series Late Model feature on Friday night at the 3/8-mile clay raceway.

The event, originally slated for the previous week, was pushed back a week due to wet weather. When all was said and done, it was the Inman, South Carolina speedster taking home top honors.

Pritchett had to settle for a second place finish, with Dale Timms in third, David McCoy in fourth, and Bryan Mullis in fifth.

Rod Roberts, Shane Yarbrough, Jay Merck, John Howard and Brandon Dockery rounded out the top 10.

In other action, Justin Roberts took the victory in the 602 Chargerts feature. Drake Parson finished in second, with Bryce Muchow in third, Kevin Lee in fourth and Riley Nash in fifth.

David Dove scored the win in the Open Wheel Modified feature. Chris Nickerson followed in second, with Josh Thurmond in third, Drew Griffith in fourth, and Ashley Hogan in fifth.

Nathan Bowen was first across the finish line to win the Stock 8 feature. Bradlee Jones, Dustin Moore, Chuck Finch and Greg Sanders rounded out the top five.

Kevin Kelly held off Elliott Brayboy for the Stock 4 feature win, followed by Randy Boshers in third, Phil Wood in fourth, and Timthy Cronic in fifth.

Herbie Chinn added to his Young Guns win total on Friday night, beating out Hunter Childress for the win. Bryson Briscoe finished third, with Justyn Jacobs fourth and Jaylan Standridge fifth.

Noe Zuniga was the winner in the Georgia Enduros, with Dwayne Dove second, Russell Shore third, Josh Valentine fourth and Dawson Locke fifth.

Lavonia Speedway returns to action on Friday, June 18 for the Eddie Ferguson Memorial. Visit LavoniaSpeedway.net for details.

Lavonia Speedway – Lavonia, GA
Race Results – June 4, 2021

602 Thunder Series Late Models
1. David Smith
2. Cody Pritchett
3. Dale Timms
4. David McCoy
5. Bryan Mullis
6. Rod Roberts
7. Shane Yarbrough
8. Jay Merck
9. John Howard
10. Brandon Dockery
11. Baillie Lowe
12. Brian Grumbles
13. Vince Fanello
14. Sterling Helm
15. Rusty House
16. Michael Smith
17. Gabe Kay
18. Kevin Stephens
19. Brandon Stroud
20. Hoyt Partain

602 Chargers
1. Justin Roberts
2. Drake Parson
3. Bryce Muchow
4. Kevin Lee
5. Riley Nash
6. Coletrain Palmer

Open Wheel Modified
1. David Dove
2. Chris Nickerson
3. Josh Thurmond
4. Drew Griffeth
5. Ashley Hogan
6. Brian Nickerson
7. Michael Fanello
8. Crash Nash

Stock 8
1. Nathan Bowen
2. Bradlee Jones
3. Dustin Moore
4. Chuck Finch
5. Greg Sanders
6. Seth Brown
7. Rickey Chamberlain

Stock 4
1. Kevin Kelly
2. Elliott Brayboy
3. Randy Boshears
4. Phil Wood
5. Timothy Cronic
6. Jonathan Sullivan
7. Ryan Baker

Young Guns
1. Herbie Chinn
2. Hunter Childress
3. Bryson Briscoe
4. Justyn Jacobs
5. Jayda Brown
6. Jaylan Standridge
7. Landen Payne
8. Koltin Bryant
9. Johnny Iller

Georgia Enduros
1. Noe Zuniga
2. Dwayne Dove
3. Russell Shore
4. Josh Valentine
5. Dawson Locke
6. Brady Stephens
7. Jacob Gable
8. Brantley Crumley
9. Morris Lester
10. Chance Henson
11. Scotty Willoughby

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lavonia Speedway, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2021 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.