Wednesday June 16th, 2021 9:10AM

Thursday Thunder fires off 2021 season opener at AMS

By Dustin Bixby
  Contact Editor

HAMPTON, Ga. - The 24th season of Thursday Thunder Legends and Bandolero racing returned to Atlanta Motor Speedway’s quarter-mile Thunder Ring on Thursday night to kickoff a thrilling series of bumper-to-bumper racing.

This was most apparent in the The Byron Powersports Semi Pro feature. Michael Gannon led right out of the gate, but was trailed throughout the race by Nathan Jackson. Initially, it appeared that it would be a dominating win for Gannon after he led for the greater half of the race, but Jackson continued to be patient, waiting for an opportunity. Finally, on lap 17, Jackson passed Gannon off of turn 1 and held off Gannon’s aggressiveness for the final 3 laps to claim the victory.

Earlier in the evening, the Outlaw feature provided an intense game of back and forth, as the race unfolded. Clay Hocutt started on the pole, but was immediately challenged by Garrett Erwin. Hocutt and Erwin battled it out until Hocutt got into his groove towards the second half of the race. A caution shortened Hocutt’s lead, but once the green flag flew again, he went on to win by a few car lengths over Erwin.

In the WJP Investments Young Lions feature, Aiden Garcia sat third as the race got underway, although he would not stay there long. Garcia made a strategic move from the start and dominated as Parker Eatmon, who finished second, and Giovanni Ruggiero, who finished third, chased the leader.

The Masters feature had many lead changes, but it was Mark Swan who claimed victory after time restraints resulted in a 9 lap race.

The night was capped by the The Associates Group Pro Legends race. which entailed 25 laps of high speed action. Timothy Watson got off to a commanding lead, but his lead shortened as cautions ensued. Caleb Healy gave him a run, but it was no match for Watson’s speed as he won comfortably in a commanding performance.

Other winners on the night included Hudson Canipe in Bandits, Lane Mueller in FR8Auctions Rookie Bandoleros and Ryan Younginer in Chargers.

For more information on the Thursday Thunder Series, visit visit or

Atlanta Motor Speedway – Hampton, GA
Thursday Thunder Round 1 – June 3, 2021

Young Lions
1. Aiden Garcia
2. Parker Eatmon
3. Giovanni Ruggiero
4. Lanie Buice
5. Bailey North
6. Keaton Hendrix
7. Matthew Kade
8. Jackson Reynolds
9. George Phillips
10. Hudson Bulger
11. Tony Yawn III
12. Lacy Kuehl
13. Hunter Burns
14. Oliver Dibble

1. Nathan Jackson
2. Michael Gannon
3. Colin Brown
4. Jason Treschl
5. Jarrett Wagman
6. Jonathan Taylor
7. Ian Hampton
8. Trey Tadrzak
9. Graham Campbell
10. Morgan Alexander
11. Kenny Brady
12. Trent Barfield

1. Timothy Watson
2. Cale Hall
3. Joshua Hicks
4. Jensen Jorgensen
5. William Sawalich
6. Caleb Heady
7. Nick Woodall
8. Christopher Clanton
9. Taylor Jorgensen
10. Gavin Graham
11. Kenneth Henderson

1. Mark Swan
2. Joey Clanton
3. Tony Yawn
4. Russell Shore
5. Wes Potter
6. Phillip Young
7. Randy Shubert
8. Barry Bowen
9. Benjamin Jones
10. James Meredith
11. Bill Plemons, Jr.
12. Ronnie Wehunt

1. Hudson Canipe
2. Beckham Malone
3. Neal Dulin
4. Nate Honeycutt
5. Baylor O’Neil
6. Mitchell Flater
7. Makenna Kendrew
8. Nicolas Denton
9. Darren Krantz, Jr.

Rookie Bandoleros
1. Lane Mueller
2. Carson Cauble
3. Kerbi Mueller
4. Emma Britt
5. Cash Belk
6. Claire Collins
7. Luke Young
8. Briella Rudolph

1. Clay Hocutt
2. Garrett Erwin
3. Gianni Esposito
4. Kyle Bacon
5. Sebastain Asztalos
6. Conner Butler
7. Kayli Kade
8. Katelyn Hicks

1. Ryan Younginer
2. Ben Thompson
3. Luke Yarbrough
4. Lisa Young
5. David Anderson
6. Brian Cosier
7. Amanda Woodall
8. Lee Brown

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Thunder Ring, Legends/Bandoleros, Thursday Thunder, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.