Saturday June 19th, 2021 6:50PM

Borst scores first Late Model Stock win at South Boston

By Joe Chandler
  Contact Editor

A pair of teenagers ruled the night in the 100-lap NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series Late Model Stock Car Division race that headlined Saturday night’s action at Virgnia’s South Boston Speedway.

Jacob Borst took the lead when race leaders Thomas Scott and Trey Crews crashed on the frontstretch and led the final 43 circuits to score his first career NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division victory.

Another teenager, Landon Pembelton, finished second, 1.504 seconds behind Borst, to give the two rookies a sweep of the top two positions in the race. This was Pembelton’s second runner-up finish at South Boston Speedway this season.

“It’s amazing to, get your first win” Borst said, “especially here at South Boston Speedway.

“Even though Pembelton’s a rookie, he is still one of the best out here.”

Borst qualified seventh but quickly moved up to third place. Things unfolded from there.

“I just knew to take my time and just make my way forward,” noted Borst.

“Thomas and Trey got together, and it was one of those deals where you don’t really know where to go. I just tried to get stopped as quickly as I could. I just luckily got through it.”

Pembelton started eighth in the race, and like Borst, steadily threaded his way through the field. He moved into second place with about 25 laps to go but was unable to mount a serious threat to Borst at the end.

“We just came up a little short,” Pembelton remarked. “I think if I had had 10 or 15 more laps I might could have gotten to his back bumper and maybe done something with him.”

Terry Dease finished third, with Carter Langley fourth and Scott fifth.

Moss, Dawson Earn Wins In Limited Sportsman Division Twinbill

Daniel Moss and Drew Dawson of split wins in Saturday night’s twin 25-lap Limited Sportsman Division races.

The victories were the second wins of the season for both Moss and Dawson.

Moss started second and led every lap in winning the first 25-lap race. Kenny Daniel finished second, with Kenny Mills, Jr. third, Andrew Amos fourth and Brent Younger fifth.

Dawson earned his second career Limited Sportsman Division win in the nightcap, edging Younger by just under a second. Daniel finished third with Tony Housman taking fourth place and Amos completing the top five finishers.

The race featured four lead changes among four drivers with Dawson leading twice for a total of 10 laps.

Crews Makes It Four Wins In A Row In The Budweiser Pure Stock Division

Nathan Crews ran his early-season win streak to four in a row Saturday night with a victory in the 30-lap Budweiser Pure Stock Division race.

Results of the race are unofficial pending a post-race technical inspection.

Crews started at the rear of the field, took the lead from Johnny Layne on the 12th lap and led the rest of the way, edging Layne by .773-second for the win.

Bruce Mayo, Jared Dawson and Scott Phillips rounded out the unofficial top five.

Dawson Wins Budweiser Hornets Division Race

Josh Dawson scored his third win of the season with a victory in the Budweiser Hornets Division race.

Steven Layne came home in second, followed by Kevin Currin in third, Andrea Ruotolo in fourth, and Jason DeCarlo in fifth.

Next Race At South Boston Speedway

NASCAR racing action returns to South Boston Speedway on Saturday night, May 15 with the NASCAR Late Model Twin 75s racing program.

For more information, visit SouthBostonSpeedway.com.

South Boston Speedway – South Boston, VA
Race Results – May 1, 2021

Late Model Stock Car
1. 25 Jacob Borst
2. 0 Landon Pembleton
3. 1 Derry Dease
4. 5 Carter Langley
5. 8 Thomas Scott
6. 01 Camden Gullie
7. 26 Peyton Sellers
8. 91 Chris Elliott
9. 28 Jason Barnes
10. 50 Raymond Pittman
11. 2 Chris Denny
12. 9 Trey Crews
13. 29 Stuart Crews
14. 26JP Jordan Pickrel

Limited Sportsman Race 1
1. 58 Daniel Moss
2. 2 Kenny Daniel
3. 21 Kenny Mills, Jr.
4. 36 Andrew Amos
5. 6 Brent Younger
6. 26 Tony Housman
7. 84 JD Eversole
8. 17 Caleb Dyer
9. 15 Ryan Joyner
10. 17 Jason Myers
11. 8 Drew Dawson

Limited Sportsman Race 2
1. 8 Drew Dawson
2. 6 Brent Younger
3. 2 Kenny Daniel
4. 26 Tony Housman
5. 36 Andrew Amos
6. 21 Kenny Mills Jr.
7. 17 Jason Myers
8. 58 Daniel Moss

Pure Stock*
1. 3 Nathan Crews
2. 9 Johnny Lane
3. 00 Bruce Mayo
4. 01 Jared Dawson
5. 66 Scott Phillips
6. 12 Randy Hupp
7. 61 Jimmy Wade
8. 8 Justin Dawson

1. 9 Josh Dawson
2. 3 Steven Layne
3. 48 Kevin Currin
4. 12 Andrea Routolo
5. 54 Jason DeCarlo
6. 63 Dillon Davis
7. 28 Kendal Millam
8. 01 Jared Dawson

*Unofficial Results

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Late Model
© Copyright 2021 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.