Sunday April 11th, 2021 3:01PM

Preece pockets SMART Modified victory at South Boston

By Track PR
  Contact Editor

SOUTH BOSTON, Va. - NASCAR Cup Series racer Ryan Preece held off Chuck Hossfeld and Burt Myers in a seven-lap dash to the finish to win Saturday’s 99-lap SMART Modified Tour race at Virginia’s South Boston Speedway.

Preece, who is also a veteran modified racer, got the advantage on the last restart and pulled away from his challengers. He crossed the finish line .473 second ahead of Hossfeld to earn his second Modified win of the season in his fifth start.

The win is Preece’s second Modified victory at South Boston Speedway. His previous win at South Boston Speedway came in 2015.

“We had a really good racecar,” Preece pointed out. “This is probably the best this car has ever been. It wasn’t easy. The 17 (Hossfeld) was real fast.

“Burt (Myers) was real fast. There were a lot of cars that I ended up having to race throughout the race. We made the right adjustments on the pit stop. We were able to get the lead and control it from there out.”

Burt Myers finished third, while Dennis Holdren finished fourth and Jason Myers finished in fifth.

Zach Brewer, Jimmy Wallace, J.R. Bertuccio, James Civali and John Smith rounded out the top 10.

Preece who drives the No. 37 JTG-Daugherty entry in the NASCAR Cup Series, led all but eight laps of the 99-lap race that was slowed by nine caution flags and one red flag. He led the first 49 laps, passed Hossfeld for the top spot on lap 58, and led the rest of the race.

NASCAR Hall Of Famer Bobby Labonte finished 17th in the 23-car field after being sidelined in one of the many mishaps in the race.

SMART Modified Tour driver Tim Bown was injured in an incident that occurred near the mid-point of the race, and was extricated from his vehicle. He was alert at the time and was treated at a local hospital for non-life-threatening injuries.

Crews Captures Win In 100-Lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division Race

Trey Crews could not have had a better start to his 2021 racing season.

The South Boston, Virginia resident took the lead from teenager Jacob Borst on lap 31 and fended off multiple challenges from Borst to take the win in the 100-lap NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series Late Model Stock Car feature.

“I knew we were going to be good here after our rookie year (in 2019),” Crews said. “Unfortunately, we weren’t able to race here last year due to COVID. We knew we were going to be competitive, and that’s what we were. It’s a great feeling.”

Borst, who won the pole and led the first 30 laps of the race, challenged Crews multiple times over the final 30 laps of the race but couldn’t make the pass for the win.

Peyton Sellers, who swept the track’s season-opening twinbill, finished third with Chris Denny in fourth and Blake Stallings in fifth.

Stuart Crews, Eddie Johnson, Colin Garrett, Carter Langley and Chris Elliott completed the top 10.

Nathan Crews Wins 15-Lap Budweiser Pure Stock Division Race

Nathan Crews scored his second straight win in the Budweiser Pure Stock Division Saturday, going flag-to-flag in the 15-lap race.

Justin Dawson finished second, 5.637 seconds behind Crews with Bruce Mayo third, Johnny Layne fourth and Jared Dawson fifth.

Josh Dawson Takes Win In 15-lap Budweiser Hornets Division Race

Josh Dawson took the lead from Jared Dawson with five laps to go to take the win in the 15-lap Budweiser Hornets Division race.

The race marked the second straight event in which the Dawsons took home a 1-2 finish.

Kevin Currin, Dillon Davis, and Andrea Ruotolo rounded out the top five.

The race featured three lead changes among four drivers.

Next Race At South Boston Speedway

Racing action returns to South Boston Speedway on Saturday, April 17. For more information, visit

South Boston Speedway – South Boston, VA
Race Results – April 3, 2021

SMART Modified Tour
1. Ryan Preece
2. Chuck Hossfeld
3. Burt Myers
4. Dennis Holdren
5. Jason Myers
6. Zach Brewer
7. Jimmy Wallace
8. JR Bertuccio
9. James Civali
10. John Smith
11. Daniel Yates
12. Danny Probst
13. Brian Weber
14. Tom Buzze
15. Brian Loftin
16. Jeremy Gertsner
17. Bobby Labonte
18. Jon Kieven
19. Brandon Ward
20. Chris Finocchario
21. Tim Brown
22. Frank Fleming
23. Brodie Jones

Late Model Stock Car
1. Trey Crews
2. Jacob Borst
3. Peyton Sellers
4. Chris Denny
5. Blake Stallings
6. Stuart Crews
7. Eddie Johnson
8. Collin Garrett
9. Carter Langley
10. Chris Elliott
11. Camden Gullie
12. Terry Dease
13. Josh Oakley
14. Alex Brock

Pure Stock
1. Nathan Crews
2. Justin Dawson
3. Bruce Mayo
4. Johnny Layne
5. Jared Dawson
6. Randy Hupp
7. Josh Paynter
8. Jimmy Wade

1. Josh Dawson
2. Jared Dawson
3. Kevin Currin
4. Dillon Davis
5. Andrea Routoli
6. Steven Layne
7. B.J. Anderson
8. Jason DeCarlo
9. Donald Clay
10. Ty Stanley
11. Kendall Milam

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Modifieds, Asphalt
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.