Monday January 18th, 2021 2:45PM

Disaster relief aid coming to North Georgia Counties affected by Tropical Storm Zeta

By Kimberly Sizemore Anchor/Reporter

Many North Georgia counties suffered damage when Tropical Storm Zeta blew through last October. Some of the impacts can still be felt as counties deal with ongoing repair projects.

Today Governor Brian Kemp requested a Major Disaster Declaration for Tropical Storm Zeta. The request was based on preliminary damage assessments totaling more than $22 million. The disaster declaration approved by President Donald Trump makes public assistance available for 21 counties in Georgia.

“The declaration will provide resources to help offset the costs of Tropical Storm Zeta,” said Chris Stallings, GEMA/HS Director. “It will be a great help to the communities recovering from this event.”

Public Assistance is available to state and local government entities and qualified not-for-profit organizations in Banks, Carroll, Cherokee, Dawson, Douglas, Fannin, Forsyth, Franklin, Gilmer, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Lumpkin, Paulding, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union and White Counties. It will provide financial aid for debris removal and repairs to roads, bridges and power infrastructure for up to 75 percent of the cost for the project.

In addition, under this declaration all areas in the State of Georgia are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. HMGP provides assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

  • Associated Categories: Local/State News
  • Associated Tags: Lumpkin County, hall county, Banks County, Habersham County, white county, Forsyth County, storm damage, Dawson County, Hurricane Zeta
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.