Thursday October 1st, 2020 3:57AM

Owens finally wins DIRTcar Nationals Gator trophy

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

BARBERVILLE, Fla. - Jimmy Owens has won almost 600 races in his career, including nearly every big Dirt Late Model race out there, but it took until Thursday night for him to earn his first Gator trophy at the DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Florida.

Owens, of Newport, Tennessee, dominated the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series main event, leading all 40 laps while behind him a furious battle was on to challenge him.

A caution with nine laps to go set up a shootout to the finish, but Owens was so strong he simply pulled away.

Chickamauga, Georgia’s Dale McDowell finished in second, followed by Josh Richards in third, Blairsville, Georgia’s Jonathan Davenport in fourth and Mike Marlar in fifth.

“I tell you we’ve been close all week, we’ve been steadily getting better each night here,” Owens said. “This car was just phenomenal tonight. I’ve been coming down here for years and I don’t think I’ve ever won a Late Model race, let alone I don’t think I’ve won two heats in a week.”

For the second consecutive night, Larry Wight held off Stewart Friesen to capture the Super DIRTcar Series Feature. Wight started on the outside of the front row and quickly took command of the 30-lap race on the high side of the track.

With only one caution Wight, of Phoenix, New York, held Friesen and the rest of the field at bay to win his third Gator Trophy and second in as many days.

“This car has just been on a rail,” Wight said. “We put the same setup in as (Wednesday) night and it was still glued to the track. Hopefully we can keep it going for the rest of the week. The car is good enough to where I don’t even need to run the cushion. Any time you’ve got Stewie (Stewart Frieson) right behind you, you definitely don’t want to see a restart. He’s a phenomenal restarter and he’s usually able to make stuff happen. The farther I can keep him behind me the better.”

The DIRTcar Nationals continues on Friday night, as the World of Outlaws Late Models and the Super DIRTcar Series return to action.

For more information, visit

Volusia Speedway Park – Barberville, FL
DIRTcar Nationals – February 13, 2020

World of Outlaws Late Model Series
1. 20-Jimmy Owens
2. 17M-Dale McDowell
3. 14-Josh Richards
4. 49-Jonathan Davenport
5. 157-Mike Marlar
6. 1-Brandon Sheppard
7. 40B-Kyle Bronson
8. 0M-Chris Madden
9. 29v-Darrell Lanigan
10. 15-Donny Schatz
11. 7-Ricky Weiss
12. 25-Shane Clanton
13. 0e-Rick Eckert
14. 28-Dennis Erb
15. 1st-Johnny Scott
16. 18-Chase Junghans
17. 6T-Tyler Erb
18. 12-Ashton Winger
19. 0-Scott Bloomquist
20. 3s-Brian Shirley
21. B1-Brent Larson
22. 99B-Boom Briggs
23. 39-Tim McCreadie
24. 97-Cade Dillard
25. 4G-Kody Evans
26. 66c-Matt Cosner
27. 25w-Allen Weisser
28. 22-Gregg Satterlee
29. 6-Blake Spencer
30. 5-Mark Whitener

Super DIRTcar Series
1. 99L-Larry Wight
2. 44-Stewart Friesen
3. 25R-Erick Rudolph
4. 7MM-Michael Maresca
5. 20-Brett Hearn
6. 91-Billy Decker
7. 9S-Matt Sheppard
8. 44P-Anthony Perrego
9. 49-Billy Dunn
10. 111-Demetrios Drellos
11. 98H-Jimmy Phelps
12. 21A-Peter Britten
13. 42P-Pat Ward
14. 7-Rick Laubach
15. 88-Mat Williamson
16. 19M-Jessey Mueller
17. 30-Ronnie Johnson
18. 19-Tim Fuller
19. 23-Kyle Coffey
20. 46-Jeremy Smith
21. 83-Brian Swartzlander
22. 3-Justin Haers
23. 32-Jim Rasey
24. 4-Andy Bachetti
25. 48T-Dave Rauscher
26. 1-Billy Pauch

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Modifieds, Dirt Late Model, WoO Late Model Tour, WoO, SpeedWeeks
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.