Friday February 28th, 2020 10:46PM

Nocella earns first World Series Mod win at New Smyrna

By Davey
  Contact Editor

NEW SMYRNA, Fla. - After starting on the front row and taking the lead on lap 3 of Tuesday night’s Tour-Type Modifieds feature at Florida’s New Smyrna Speedway, Anthony Nocella seemed to be on his way to an easy victory in the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.

That was until Matt Hirschman passed Patrick Emerling for the runner-up spot with seven laps remaining and set his sights on Nocella.

He wound up getting to the Woburn, Massachusetts native, but fell short of clipping his nose for the win. Nocella’s margin of victory was officially 0.032 seconds, the closest finish of the week and his first World Series win.

“I knew we had a pretty good car, but I know that he’s always fast here and I knew he’d be there at the end,” Nocella said. “(Hirschman is) probably one of the best at saving his tires and making a run to the end. He knows this place really well. We had a good starting spot up there on the front row and I just figured if I could keep him behind me I’d have a shot there at the end because I knew he’d be able to save his tires.”

Emerling finished third, with NASCAR Cup Series driver Ryan Preece coming home fourth and Craig Lutz fifth.

Action in the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing continues on Wednesday night with the Super Late Models, Tour Modified , Modifieds and Pro Late Models in competition.

For more information, visit

New Smyrna Speedway – New Smyrna Beach, FL
World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing – February 10, 2020

Night Four Results

Tour-Type Modifieds
1. Anthony Nocella
2. Matt Hirschman
3. Patrick Emerling
4. Ryan Preece
5. Craig Lutz
6. Tyler Rypkema
7. JR Bertuccio
8. Kyle Ebersole
9. Jeremy Gerstner
10. Mike Willis
11. Jimmy Blewett
12. David Sapienza
13. Eddie McCarthy
14. Brad Vanhouton
15. Tommy Catalano
16. Jeffrey Gallup
17. Jimmy Zacharias
18. Anthony Sesely
19. Eric Goodale
20. Amy Catalano
21. Andy Petree
22. Paul Townsond
23. Joe DeGracia
24. Tyler Catalano
25. Rich Parker
26. Brett Meservey
27. Adam LaCicero
28. Ray Fattaruso
29. Mike Bologna
30. Broc Brown
31. Kevin Shea

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Modifieds, Asphalt, SpeedWeeks
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.