Friday February 28th, 2020 10:43PM

Schuchart wins DIRTcar Nats WoO finale, Sweet gets title

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

BARBERVILLE, Fla. - Logan Schuchart became the third different winner in three World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series features when he powered to victory on Sunday night in DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Florida.

It took Schuchart, of Hanover, Pennsylvania, just one lap to slide past Daryn Pittman and pull away with the lead. Pittman gave chase before Cory Eliason darted past Pittman and set his sights on Schuchart. But with one lap to go, Eliason’s motor went up in smoke creating a green-white-checkered finish.

Schuchart again shot out quickly and easily motored to the checkered flag. Pittman was second with Brad Sweet third. Sweet’s run in his NAPA-sponsored Kasey Kahne Racing machine was more than enough to clinch his second DIRTcar Nationals Sprint Car Week championship, marking the first time he’s accomplished the feat since 2016.

“It was a lot of fun,” said Sweet, who said he’s going to spend the rest of the week at Disney World with his wife and daughter. “I thought we had a lot of different tracks all week. The NAPA car was fast on all the different conditions, but we’ll take that.”

In other action, a split DIRTcar UMP Modified field running a qualifier for Monday’s $5,000-to-win Gator Championship event saw Kyle Strickler win for the seventh time of his career at Volusia and the second time in the past five days.

Strickler had opened a sizable advantage when the caution flew with one to go, bunching the field, but also giving him clear track. Strickler quickly powered back off the corner as Tyler Nicely tried to stay with him to no avail. Nicely wound up second with NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Justin Allgaier in third.

Action in the DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park continues on Monday with the DIRTcar Late Models competing in the first of two nights, while the DIRTcar UMP Modified will run their Gator Championship event.

For more information, visit

Volusia Speedway Park – Barberville, FL
DIRTcar Nationals – February 9, 2020

WoO Sprint Car Series
1. 1S-Logan Schuchart
2. 83-Daryn Pittman
3. 49-Brad Sweet
4. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild
5. 2-Carson Macedo
6. 41-David Gravel
7. 15-Donny Schatz
8. 9-James McFadden
9. 7-Shane Stewart
10. 87-Aaron Reutzel
11. 48-Danny Dietrich
12. 1A-Jacob Allen
13. 18-Ian Madsen
14. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
15. 21-Brian Brown
16. 57-Kyle Larson
17. 2M-Kerry Madsen
18. 14-Tim Shaffer
19. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss
20. 15K-Chad Kemenah
21. 4-Terry McCarl
22. 7S-Jason Sides
23. 33M-Mason Daniel
24. 26-Cory Eliason
25. 15H-Sam Hafertepe
26. J4-John Garvin
27. 11K-Kraig Kinser

DIRTcar UMP Modifieds
1. 8KS-Kyle Strickler
2. 25-Tyler Nicely
3. 7JA-Justin Allgaie
4. 23-Ryan Cripe
5. 35-David Stremme
6. 96M-Mike McKinney
7. 95-Michael Altobelli
8. 77-Ray Bollinger
9. 7-Drake Troutman
10. 7CT-Christian Thomas
11. 7A-Shane Sabraski
12. 99M-Mike Mullen
13. 75-Terry Phillips
14. 52-Colin Green
15. 24D-Travis Dickson
16. A1-Gary Bentley
17. 9-Sheldon Creed
18. 4UW-Bobby Regot
19. 5F-Jerry Foster
20. O7-Curtis King
21. 24-Zeke McKenzie
22. 97-Mitch Thomas
23. 8-Steve Stevenson
24. 2A-Donnie Moran
25. 11-Jesse Rupe
26. 8A-Austin Holcombe
27. 1M-Curt Myers
28. O5-Dave Wietholder
29. 90-Jason Beaulieu
30. 88-Matt Crafton

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Open Wheel, Auto Racing, Sprint Car, Stock Car, Short Track, Modifieds, WoO, SpeedWeeks
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.