Saturday October 24th, 2020 5:12AM

Bonsignore takes second NASCAR Whelen Modified title

  Contact Editor

THOMPSON, Conn. — Twice in the previous four years, Justin Bonsignore won the season finale at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, and had his Victory Lane celebration cut short when he had to move out of the way for the crowning of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion.

Sunday, they made way for Bonsignore.

The 32-year-old from Holtsville, New York, waited for Sunoco World Series 150 winner Craig Lutz to wrap up before celebrating his second tour championship in three years.

Bonsignore finished fourth behind Lutz, Jon McKennedy and Ron Silk.

It was his ninth top-five finish in nine races in the abbreviated season that included three victories. It also marked Bonsignore’s 15th straight top five.

He entered the final weekend needing to finish sencond to clinch the title. But after winning three of the last four races at Thompson, but watching Doug Coby crowned the champion at the end of the night — including last year’s bittersweet race win — Bonsignore looked to take both the race and the championship.

Bonsingore won the title in 2018 and finished eight points behind Coby last year. He’s finished in the top three in points in six of the last seven seasons.

Coby won the Mayhew Tools Pole Award Saturday but had his race cut short by a lap 97 accident and finished 22nd.

Justin’s cousin, Kyle Bonsignore, finished fifth.

Sam Rameau was sixth, followed by Woody Pitkat, Calvin Carroll, Patrick Emerling and Tyler Rypkema.

Rypkema collected his fifth top 10 of the season and the 23-year-old from Oswego, New York, earned the Sunoco Rookie the Year Award.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park – Thompson, CT
World Series of Speedway Racing 150 – October 11, 2020

1. Craig Lutz
2. Jon McKennedy
3. Ron Silk
4. Justin Bonsignore
5. Kyle Bonsignore
6. Samuel Rameau
7. Woody Pitkat
8. Calvin Carroll
9. Patrick Emerling
10. Tyler Rypkema
11. Matt Swanson
12. Anthony Nocella
13. Chris Pasteryak
14. Rob Summers
15. Walter Sutcliffe, Jr.
16. Ken Heagy
17. Ronnie Williams
18. Gary Byington
19. Dave Sapienza
20. Melissa Fifield
21. Cory Osland
22. Doug Coby
23. Tommy Catalano
24. Andy Jankowiak
25. Chuck Hossfeld
26. Timmy Solomito
27. Eric Goodale

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Modifieds, Asphalt, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.