Friday June 5th, 2020 6:07PM

Five qualify for Habersham County D5 Special Election

By Rob Moore Reporter

Qualifying for the Habersham County Commission District 5 Special Election on Nov. 5 wrapped up Friday.

Five residents of the district submitted the required paperwork to seek the seat left vacant by the August resignation of Ed Nichols.

Those who qualified include George Locke Arnold, Michael D. Gosnell, Darrin Johnston, Tim Stamey and Barry Trotter, said Habersham County Elections Superintendent Laurel Ellison.

The Special Election for the District 5 seat will be held in conjunction with the Nov. 5 countywide jail bond referendum and will fill the balance of Nichols’ term, roughly one year, one month and 13 days, Ellison said.

The last day to register to vote in the 2019 Special Election is Oct. 7.

Absentee ballots and early voting will begin on Oct. 15 and continue until Nov. 1, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., in the Habersham County Office of Elections and Registration.

Advance voting at the Ruby Fulbright Aquatic Center in Clarkesville and First Baptist Church of Cornelia will begin Oct. 28 and continue until Nov. 1, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

All Habersham County voting precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, Nov. 5.

  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Local/State News, Politics
  • Associated Tags: Special Election, Habersham County, Habersham County Commission
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.