Monday June 1st, 2020 11:35AM

Sellers captures fifth career South Boston Speedway title

By Mike Smith
  Contact Editor

SOUTH BOSTON, Va. - Peyton Sellers captured his fifth career South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division title in Saturday night’s Late Model Twin 75s.

Sellers’ fifth career track title at the South Boston, Virginia speedway ties him with the late legendary NASCAR Modified and Late Model Sportsman star Ray Hendrick for the second-most NASCAR feature-division track championships at South Boston Speedway. Only David Blankenship, with seven track championships, stands above Sellers and Hendrick.

This season’s title is the third South Boston Speedway track title in a row for Sellers, who finished second to Lee Pulliam in the opening 75-lap race and unofficially finished 10th in the second of Saturday night’s pair of 75-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division races.

Pulliam’s win over Sellers in the opening 75-lap race came by less than a second. The win was Pulliam’s fifth victory in a row at the .4-mile oval.

Austin Thaxton, Trey Crews and Thomas Scott rounded out the top five finishers in the first race.

Drew Dollar of Atlanta, Georgia was the unofficial winner of the second race, a dramatic race that saw Sellers and Pulliam battle side-by-side and bumper-to-bumper for the lead for the final 30 laps. As the two drivers sped into the third turn on the final lap, Sellers’ car made contact with the rear of Pulliam’s car, and Pulliam spun between turns three and four.

Sellers sped to the finish line ahead of the rest of the field, but was penalized by track officials for causing the incident and was awarded 10th place, the last position behind the rest of the cars that finished on the lead lap.

Dollar, who was running third at the time, was declared the unofficial winner, with Thaxton finishing second, Scott taking third place, Blake Stallings being awarded fourth place and Nick Smith rounding out the top five finishers in the unofficial finishing order.

In other action, Danny Willis, Jr. won his fourth career South Boston Speedway NASCAR Limited Sportsman Division championship with a 10th-place finish in the night’s 50-lap feature.

Willis and Jacob Borst waged a hard-fought battle for the win after the race’s final caution flag flew with 13 laps to go, with Willis getting beside Borst on the inside several times without being able to make the pass.

A last-ditch effort by Willis on the last lap to earn the win came up short as Willis spun as the pair sped off of the fourth turn heading to the checkered flag.

Borst sped across the finish line to grab his sixth win of the season and tie Willis for the most wins in the division. Landon Pembleton finished third, with Mark Cook finishing fourth and Mitchell Wright in fifth.

Nathan Crews won his first career South Boston Speedway Budweiser Pure Stock Division championship 30-lap feature.

Crews won the race to earn his ninth victory of the season, edging Scott Phillips by .778-second.

Randy Hupp, Justin Dawson and Jesse Keesee completed the top five.

Kevin Currin won his second South Boston Speedway Budweiser Hornets Division championship. This season’s championship makes Currin the first driver to win multiple championships in the division.

Jared Dawson edged Josh Dawson by a foot in a near photo finish to win the 15-lap race and earn his second victory of the season.

Tyler Stanley came home in third, with Currin in fourth and Donald Clay in fifth.

South Boston Speedway will close out its 2019 season with the CARS Tour Series on Saturday, November 2. For more information, visit

South Boston Speedway – South Boston, VA
Race Results – September 7, 2019

Late Model Stock Cars
Race 1
1. Lee Pulliam
2. Peyton Sellers
3. Austin Thaxton
4. Trey Crews
5. Thomas Scott
6. Blake Stallings
7. Camden Gullie
8. Nathan Crews
9. Raymond Pittman III
10. Drew Dollar
11. Nick Smith
12. Larry Barrett
13. Daniel Shelton
14. Daniel Silvestri
15. Eric Winslow
16. Wyatt Gardner
17. Brent Younger
18. Chris Johnson
19. Taylor Gray

Race 2
1. Drew Dollar
2. Austin Thaxton
3. Thomas Scott
4. Blake Stallings
5. Nick Smith
6. Camden Gullie
7. Lee Pulliam
8. Nathan Crews
9. Eric Winslow
10. Peyton Sellers
11. Daniel Shelton
12. Raymond Pittman III
13. Chris Johnson
14. Wyatt Gardner
15. Larry Barrett
16. Trey Crews

Limited Sportsman
1. Jacob Borst
2. Daniel Moss
3. Landon Pembleton
4. Mark Cook
5. Mitchel Wright
6. Drew Dawson
7. Kenny Daniel
8. Caleb Dyer
9. Brent Younger
10. Danny Willis, Jr.
11. Cameron Jarrell

Pure Stock
1. Nathan Crews
2. Scott Phillips
3. Randy Hupp
4. Justin Dawson
5. Jesse Keesee
6. Jimmy Wade

1. Jared Dawson
2. Josh Dawson
3. Ty Stanley
4. Kevin Currin
5. Donald Clay
6. Steven Layne
7. Ryan Paul
8. Andrea Ruotolo
9. Bobby Riddle III
10. Alyssa Spencer

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Late Model, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.