Tuesday January 19th, 2021 11:29PM

McCoy crowned LLM “King of the Highbanks” at Toccoa

By Charles Head
  Contact Editor

David McCoy remains the undisputed King of the Highbanks.

McCoy powered to the win in Sunday’s Phillips Group Limited Late Model feature at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway in the special Labor Day weekend event.

The Franklin, North Carolina speedster has won every King of the Highbanks Limited Late Model event since its inception four years ago at the historic 5/16 mile clay speedway.

Kenny Collins finished in second, despite his car smoking for the final ten laps. Chris Woods came home in third.

In other action on the night, which saw each division contending for a King of the High Banks crown with eligibility based the top five in season points, Payton Freeman scored the win and the title in the Midsouth Cage Equipment Pro Late Model feature, with McCoy following in second and Sylvan Schuette in third.

Ricky Smith bested the field of the Safety Plus 602 Sportsman feature for the win and the title. Smith started outside pole beside Crandall Turner, but was able to get the lead in turn one on the opening lap. Turner held on for second, with John Howard in third.

Chad Puckett won the Modified Street feature, while second place finisher Billy Buffington took the title. Tracy Addison finished in third.

Bill Pulliam won the race and the title in the Toccoa Pro Trucks. Terry Calhoun was second with Preston Nicholson third.

Jackie Holden won the race and the title in the Stock 4 feature. Tyler Riddle and Harley Holden rounded out the podium.

Hayden Collett won the race and the title in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Stock 8 feature. Chance Segars finished in second, followed by Hunter Pilling in third.

Toccoa Raceway will be back in action for the final race of the 2019 season on Saturday, September 14 as the track hosts the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series. For more information, visit

Toccoa Raceway – Toccoa, GA
Race Results – September 1, 2019

Limited Late Models
1. David McCoy
2. Kenny Collins
3. Chris Woods
4. Jimmy Johnson
5. Daniel Wilson
6. David Conley
7. Mason Tucker
8. Wesley English
9. Jr. Headen
DNS: Steven Segars

FASTRAK Pro Late Models
1. Payton Freeman
2. David McCoy
3. Sylvan Schuette
3. Cody Pritchett

602 Sportsman
1. Ricky Smith
2. Crandall Turner
3. John Howard
4. Cole Hardy
5. Nick Sellers
6. Rusty House
7. Matthew Furgerson
8. Jeremy Mayfield
DNS: Cody Smith
DNS: Shun Thomas

Modified Street
1. Chad Puckett
2. Billy Buffington
3. Tracey Addison
4. Daniel Snow
5. Chris Nickerson
6. Mack English
7. Josh Thurmond
8. Calvin Miller
DNS: Sterling Helm

Stock V8
1. Hayden Collett
2. Chance Segars
4. Hunter Pilling
4. Cameron Collett
5. Nickoli Holcomb
6. John Hughes
7. Trey Pilgrim
8. Bradlee Jones
9. Bobby Rhinehart
10. Ricky Jones
DNS: Nathan Bowen

Stock 4
1. Jackie Holden
2. Tyler Riddle
3. Harley Holden
4. Elliot Brayboy
5. Bobby Boshears
6. Jacob Rohme
7. Jamie Brown
8. Phil Wood
9. Douglas Stewart
10. Zack Stewart
11. Randy Boshears
12. Caylan Kettle
13. Ryan Crawfordl

Toccoa Pro Trucks
1. Bill Pulliam
2. Terry Calhoun
3. Preston Nickolson

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Toccoa, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2021
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.