Tuesday October 22nd, 2019 10:25PM

Simpson scores Winder-Barrow Limited Late Model win

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

Gus Simpson led wire-to-wire to score the Limited Late Model feature victory on Saturday night at Georgia’s Winder-Barrow Speedway.

But that doesn’t mean the Gainesville, Georgia speedster didn’t come under pressure en route to the win.

With the feature going caution free, Simpson jumped out to the early lead, with John Anderson settling into second.

After holding off a charge from Dustin Cason for position, Anderson was able to gap the competition and began closing on Simpson.

Lap after lap, Simpson found himself under fire from Anderson. Time and again, Anderson looked to the inside, and at one point got alongside the leader. But each time, Simpson was able to hold him at bay.

When the checkered flag flew, it was Simpson across the line first for the win. Anderson had to settle for second, with Cason in third, Ken Lamppin in fourth and Brandon Roberts in fifth.

In other action, Logan Stinchcomb was the winner in the Hobby feature. Chris Jones came home in second, with Chase Lampp in third, Jerome Hanson in fourth and Dakota Taylor in fifth.

Aaron Criswell topped the Modified Street feature to take the victory, with Jordan Poole second, Arti Ridgeway third and Derrick Cox fourth.

Mark Chancey scored the win in the Stock V8 feature, with Tim Corbin, Jeff Casper, Trey Pilgrim and Trip Sexton rounding out the top five.

Scotty Cox was the winner in the Stock 4A feature. Kyle Braswell followed in second, with Kyle Walker in third, Allen Cantrell in fourth and Cody Albright in fifth.

John Martin got the victory in the Stock 4B feature, with Derek Lord in second, Bobby Shelton in third, Adam Jones in fourth and William Earnest in fifth.

Winder-Barrow Speedway is back in action on Saturday, July 6. For more information, visit

Winder-Barrow Speedway – Winder, GA
Race Results – June 29, 2019

Limited Late Models
1. #11 Gus Simpson
2. #7 John Anderson
3. #47 Dustin Cason
4. #1K Ken Lampp
5. #1 Brandon Roberts
6. #85 Cole Stinchcomb

1. #85 Logan Stinchcomb
2. #C4 Chris Jones
3. #25 Chase Lampp
4. #4 Jerome Hanson
5. #120 Dakota Taylor
6. #96 Austin Brumbelow-DNF
DQ: #112 Tyler Canup

Modified Street
1. #78 Aaron Criswell
2. #99 Jordan Poole
3. #14 Arti Ridgeway
4. #30 Derrick Cox
5. #1 Nick Frady-DNF

Stock V8
1. #20 Mark Chancey
2. #44 Tim Corbin
3. #09 Jeff Casper
4. #7 Trey Pilgrim
5. #69 Trip Sexton
6. #33 T.J. Edwards-DNF
7. #23 Eddie Whitt-DNF

Stock 4A
1. #84 Scotty Cox
2. #8 Kyle Braswell
3. #10 Kyle Walker
4. #3 Allen Cantrell
5. #13 Cody Albright
6. #0 Matt Gerrin
7. #66 Brandon Franklin
8. #03 Roger Cothran
9. #52 Damen Harrison-DNF
10. #35 Joseph Dyer-DNF

Stock 4B
1. #30 John Martin
2. #23 Derek Lord
3. #5G Bobby Shelton
4. #42 Adam Jones
5. #441 William Earnest
6. #03 David Ivester
7. #12 Steve Hill
8. #66 BJ Franklin
9. #38 Bobby Croya
10. #47a Andrew Wilson
11. #72 Brandon Cox
12. #52 Charles Earnest-DNF
13. #320 Dustin Kennedy-DNF
14. #52 James Ellenburg-DNF
15. #7 Mark Parker, Jr.-DNF

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Winder-Barrow Speedway, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.