Sunday July 3rd, 2022 11:40PM

Drew Collins tops Limited Late Models at Toccoa

By Charles Head
  Contact Editor

The last time Drew Collins competed at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway, he recorded his first win at the historic 5/16 mile clay speedway.

Now that he’s gotten a taste of victory at Toccoa, he seems to want to make it a habit.

The Auburn, Georgia racer scored his second Phillips Group Limited Late Model division victory on Saturday night.

Collins started on the pole, but was dogged on every lap by a persistent and very fast Drew Benfield. Collins held off the Toccoa native to score the win by a small margin at the end of the 25 lap feature. Jimmy Johnson came home in third.

In other action, Payton Freeman scored the victory in the FASTRAK Pro Late Model feature. The Commerce, Georgia native – and student at Commerce High School – led every lap after starting the feature on the pole. Frankie Beard finished in second, followed by Adam Smith in third.

Crandall Turner started on the pole for the Safety Plus 602 Sportsman feature, but saw his night go south on lap eight. Nick Sellers inherited the lead, and went on to score the victory. Former NASCAR ace Jeremy Mayfield finished in second, with Mark Wilbanks in third.

Sellers doubled up on the night with a win in the Modified Street division, with Billy Buffington and Sterling Helm rounding out the podium.

Bill Pulliam became the first three time winner at Toccoa this season with a in the Toccoa Pro Trucks feature. Terry Calhoun finished in second, followed by Preston Nicholson in third.

Ben Dunson scored his first ever Toccoa victory in the Stock V8 feature. Brady Hunt followed in second, with Daryl Sutton in third.

Harley Holden took the win in the Stock 4 feature, with Douglas Stewart second and Kenny Dobbs third.

Caylan Kettle won the Young Guns feature over Cam Winkler.

Toccoa Raceway returns to action on Saturday, May 11 with the rescheduled Schaefer
Oil Southern Nationals Super Late Model event. For more information, visit

Toccoa Raceway – Toccoa, GA
Race Results – April 27, 2019

Limited Late Models
1. Drew Collins
2. Drew Benfield
3. Jimmy Johnson
4. Mason Tucker
5. Ted Crunkleton
6. Bobby Boshears
7. Jay Motes
8. Ronald Woods
9. David Conley

FASTRAK Pro Late Models
1. Payton Freeman
2. Frankie Beard
3. Adam Smith
4. Nick Schager
5. Drew Collins
6. Sylvan Schuette
7. Cody Haskins
8. Chris Nickerson
9. Blake Craft
10. Sam Hicks

602 Sportsman/Hobby
1. Nick Sellers
2. Jeremy Mayfield
3. Mark Wilbanks
4. Lance Chipwood
5. Cole Hardy
6. Cody Smith
7. James Nash
8. Brandon Elliot
9. Matthew Furgerson
10. Justin Barns
11. Crandall Turner

Modified Street
1. Nick Sellers
2. Billy Buffington
3. Sterling Helm
4. Calvin Miller
5. Sammy Calhoun

Stock V8
1. Ben Dunson
2. Brady Hunt
3. Daryle Sutton
4. Hayden Collett
5. Lisa Calhoun
6. Kevin Rich

Stock 4
1. Harley Holden
2. Douglas Stewart
3. Kenny Dobbs
4. Randy Boshears
5. Ryan Crawford

Toccoa Pro Trucks
1. Bill Pulliam
2. Terry Calhoun
3. Preston Nickolson
4. Ralph Anderson
5. Tim Kingsey

Young Guns
1. Caylan Kettle
2. Cam Winker

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Toccoa, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2022
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.