Saturday August 24th, 2019 9:52AM

Matt Long scores FASTRAK win in Toccoa opener

By Charles Head
  Contact Editor

Matt Long opened up the 2019 FASTRAK Touring Series season on Saturday night with a victory at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway.

Long, from Concord, North Carolina, started on the outside row of the series feature at the legendary 5/16-mile speedway. He took the lead from Payton Freeman, and went on to lead the lion’s share of the 38-lap feature en route to the win to open Toccoa Raceway’s 2019 season.

Freeman would finish behind Long for second. Matthew Nance finished in third, with Carson Ferguson in fourth and Drew Collins in fifth.

Blake Craft, Hunter Stinnett, Corey Almond, asphalt ace Bubba Pollard and Nicholas Dietz rounded out the top ten.

In other action, David McCoy scored his first win of the season in the Phillips Group Limited Late Model feature. Mason Tucker came home in second, with Wesley English in third.

Crandall Turner led flag-to-flag to win the Safety Plus 602 Sportsman feature. Brandon Stroud placed second, with Mark Wilbanks third.

Billy Buffington led 11 laps of the 12 laps in the Modified Street feature, but suffered an engine problem just as he crossed underneath the white flag. Daniel Doster, who was running third at that point, passed second place finisher Sterling Helm to capture the win. Buffington held on for third place.

In the Toccoa Pro Trucks feature, veteran racer Bill Pulliam, youngster Preston Nicholson to score the victory.

Harley Holden recorded the win in the Stock 4 feature, beating out Kevin Kelly and Jamie Massey for the victory.

Nathan Bowen took the top honors in the Stock 8 feature. Hayden Collett crossed the finish line in second, with Ben Dunson in third.

Toccoa Raceway returns to action on Saturday, April 18. For more information visit

Toccoa Raceway – Toccoa, GA
Race Results – April 6, 2019

FASTRAK Racing Series
1. Matt Long
2. Peyton Freeman
3. Matthew Nance
4. Carson Ferguson
5. Drew Collins
6. Blake Craft
7. Hunter Stinnett
8. Corey Almond
9. Bubba Pollard
10. Nicholas Dietz
11. Nick Schlager
12. Clayton Turner
13. Sylvan Schuette
14. David McCoy
15. Jensen Ford
16. Dale Timms
17. Frankie Beard
18. Brad York
19. Adam Smith
DNS: Banjo Duke
DNS: Joshua Bishop

Limited Late Models
1. David McCoy
2. Mason Tucker
3. Wesley English
4. Ted Crunkleton
5. Bobby Boshears
6. Jay Motes
7. Drew Collins

Modified Street
1. Daniel Doster
2. Sterling Helm
3. Billy Buffington
4. Chadillac Puckett

602 Sportsman
1. Crandall Turner
2. Brandon Stroud
3. Mark Wilbanks
4. John Howard
5. Jeremy Mayfield
6. Justin Barnes
7. James Nash
8. Josh Roberts

Toccoa Pro Trucks
1. Bill Pulliam
2. Preston Nickolson

Stock 8
1. Nathan Bowen
2. Hayden Collett
3. Ben Dunson
4. Nickoli Holcomb

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Toccoa, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.