Monday August 3rd, 2020 10:30PM

Owens wins Charlotte, Sheppard takes WoO LMS title

By Jordan DeLucia
  Contact Editor

CONCORD, N.C. – Jimmy Owens closed out the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series with a victory on Saturday night in the Can-Am World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

It marked the seventh career series win for Owens at Charlotte – the most for any driver at the facility.

“The car’s been really good all weekend, we just had a little bit of misfortune the night before,” Owens said in Victory Lane after the race. “I’m just glad to get this Red Line Oil, Reece Monument, Ramirez Motorsports car home in the lead.”

Meanwhile, Brandon Sheppard celebrated his sixth series championship title, with 18 wins and a record-breaking 340-point margin over second-place in the overall points standings.

“It was just another one of those years,” Sheppard said. “We didn’t get the 19th win like we wanted, but at the end of the day, that gives us something to chase next year. The record is still there, and we know we can do it, it’s just a matter of putting a full season together, doing the same thing we did this year and getting lucky once more.”

Chickamauga, Georgia’s Dale McDowell finished in third on Saturday night, followed by Mike Marlar in fourth and Chris Madden in fifth.

Blairsville, Georgia’s Jonathan Davenport finished sixth, with John Blankenship, Josh Richards, Scott Bloomquist and Don O’Neal rounding out the top ten.

For more information on the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series, visit

WoO Morton Buildings Late Model Series
The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway – Concord, NC
Can-Am World Finals – November 9, 2019

1. 20-Jimmy Owens
2. 7-Ricky Weiss
3. 17M-Dale McDowell
4. O1-Mike Marlar
5. 0M-Chris Madden
6. 49-Jonathan Davenport
7. 23-John Blankenship
8. 14-Josh Richards
9. 0-Scott Bloomquist
10. 5-Don O’Neal
11. 1-Brandon Sheppard
12. 25-Shane Clanton
13. 28-Dennis Erb
14. 71-Hudson O’Neal
15. 22-Chris Ferguson
16. 2-Brandon Overton
17. 111-Max Blair
18. 18-Chase Junghans
19. 29-Darrell Lanigan
20. 72-Jason Covert
21. 1T-Tyler Erb
22. 111r-Steven Roberts
23. OE-Rick Eckert
24. 99B-Boom Briggs
25. B1-Brent Larson
26. 6m-Tim McCreadie
27. 6-Blake Spencer
28. 87-Ross Bailes
29. 97-Cade Dillard
30. 88-Trent Ivey
31. 15b-Brian Birkhofer

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, WoO Late Model Tour, WoO
© Copyright 2020
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.