Thursday March 21st, 2019 10:34PM

Page scores third straight Ice Bowl win at Talladega

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

It was a push and shove affair in Sunday’s 28th annual Ice Bowl at Talladega Short Track.

In the end, it was Michael Page muscling his way to his third straight win in the January classic at the Eastaboga, Alabama dirt track.

Page, from Douglasville, Georgia, bypassed Cory Hedgecock with eight laps to go, and then held off a last lap charge from the Loudon, Tennessee driver to score the win and the $6,000 payday.

The action started early on in the 50 lap feature, as the leaders stacked up three wide on the drop of the green flag, with Austin Horton taking the early lead while Hedgecock and Page followed.

It didn’t take long for Hedgecock to assert himself at the head of the field, as he took the point from Horton on lap three, with Page following into second behind him.

As the leaders raced into lap traffic, Page looked for an opportunity to challenge Hedgecock for the lead, stacking the leaders three wide with lap cars on several occasions. Page would finally move into the top spot on lap 16, and tried to move away.

But his run for a record third event win almost went away with 23 laps to go when Page slowed suddenly due to a brake issue, allowing Hedgecock and Ray Cook to move past.

Three laps later, Page made contact with the lap car of Dillon Hoover in turn four as Page tried to challenge Cook for the second position. The contact sent Hoover into the outside wall, drawing a caution.

Back under green, Page bypassed Cook and began working to reel in the Hedgecock for the lead. With nine laps to go, Page got a run on the inside of turn one on the leader, finally making the pass off turn two.

On the final lap, Hedgecock threw a Hail Mary in turn three, driving hard to the inside of Page. The two made contact, with Hedgecock spinning in turn four as Page drove to the win.

Cook finished in second, followed by Horton in third, Dallas Cooper in fourth and Joseph Brown in fifth.

Andy Picklesimer, David Brannon, Josh Adkins, David Seibers and J.T. Seawright rounded out the top 10.

After spinning out of second on the final lap, Hedgecock would be credited with a 20th place finish.

Page would double up on the night with a win in the Durrence Layne 602 Sportsman feature, edging out Booger Brooks for the win.

Other winners on the weekend included Jason Hiett in the Steel Head Sportsman feature, Jimmy Elliott in Durrence Layne Dirt Late Models, Ronnie Johnson in Street Stocks, Chris Yarbrough in Modified Sportsman, J.J. Garrett in Mini Stocks, Logan McVey in Hot Shots and Lucas Horton in Factory Stocks.

For more information on Talladega Short Track, visit

Talladega Short Track – Eastaboga, AL
Ice Bowl – January 7, 2018

1. Michael Page
2. Ray Cook
3. Austin Horton
4. Dallas Cooper
5. Joseph Brown
6. Andy Picklesimer
7. David Brannon
8. Josh Adkins
9. David Seibers
10. J.T. Seawright
11. Jason Hiett
12. Scott Crigler
13. Jackson Hale
14. Tanner English
15. Tim Roszell
16. Clay Harris
17. Dewayne Kiefer
18. Dillon Tidmore
19. Chris Jones
20. Cory Hedgecock
21. Brett White
22. Jimmy Elkins
23. Mark Bangs
24. Dylan Hoover
25. Corey Posey
26. Tom Maddox

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.