Thursday March 21st, 2019 10:56PM

Mathis, Jr. claims Dalton Myers 54 victory at East Bay

By Track PR
  Contact Editor

It took a little more time for competitors and fans alike, but Saturday night’s running of the annual Pro Late Model Dalton Myers 54 at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, Florida was worth the wait.

Steve Mathis, Jr. bypassed Kyle Bronson with two laps to go in the 54 lap feature, and went on to score the win and the $5,400 payday at the famed “Clay By The Bay.”

Josh Peacock grabbed the lead from the pole as the race experienced a sluggish start due to early race cautions. Peacock’s first challenger was fellow front row starter Devin Dixon, but Dixon soon found himself being passed by Travis Barnadore for second on lap nine.

The lead duo worked lapped traffic, with Varnadore closing when the opportunity would arise. A lap 29 caution halted the action temporarily, but when the race resumed, Georgia’s Ashton Winger vaulted to second. Winger’s pass was negated when another caution came out, and Bronson inherited second when Varnadore had to pit with an issue.

Back under green, Peacock would hold the lead until lap 46, when Bronson was able to slip past to take the point. Peacock spun a lap later, moving Mathis to second.

With two laps to go, Mathis, Jr. was on the charge, making the move around Bronson to take the lead. It would prove to be the winning move, as Mathis, Jr. went on to score the victory.

Winger finished in third, with Keith Nosbisch in fourth and Varnadore in fifth.

Devin Dixon, Andrew Hopkins, Mason Massey , Shan Smith and Pete Cochran rounded out the top ten.

Other winners on the night included John Bradley in Street Stocks, Kevin Strife in Micro Sprints, Daniel Bowman in Gladiators and David Kelley in Florida Old Time Modifieds.

For more info on East Bay Raceway Park, visit

East Bay Raceway Park – Tampa, FL
Dalton Myers 54 – December 29, 2018

Pro Late Models
1. Steve Mathis, Jr.
2. Kyle Bronson
3. Ashton Winger
4. Keith Nosbisch
4. Travis Varnadore
5. Devin Dixon
6. Andrew Hopkins
7. Mason Massey
8. Shan Smith
9. Pete Cochran
10. John Norris
11. Josh Peacock
12. Jeff Mathews
13. Steven Brendle
14. Will Herrington
15. Waylon Haynes
16. Mark Whitener
17. Wallace Peacock
18. Megan Meyer
19. Phillip Cobb
20. Kody Jett
21. Thomas Burnside
22. Dustin Perez
23. T.J. LaFlamboy
24. Dennis Williams

Street Stocks
1. John Bradley
2. Tanner Cobb
3. Rich Livernois, Jr.
4. Tommy Hill
5. Jonathan Croson
6. Henry Burnside
7. Joshua Kuenstbeck
8. Allen Bailey
9. Wayne Haynes
10. Jimmy Baker
11. James McPeak
12. Robert Tyler
13. Charles Christian
14. Gary Lucas

Micro Sprints
1. Kevin Strife
2. Cliff Evans
3. William Brannan, Sr.
4. Chris Diamond
5. Joe Bartow
5. William Brannan, Jr.

1. Daniel Bowman
2. Jeff Smith
3. Kayla Handy
4. Bailey Purcell
5. Robert Kissam
6. Daniel Casey
7. Thomas Adams
8. Logan Casteel
9. Trevor Johnson
10. Ricky Rutledge, Jr.
11. Michael Meeks
12. Leon Coulter
13. Johnathan Wood

Florida Old Time Modifieds
1. David Kelley
2. Jamie Frankland
3. Danny Bowman
4. Charlie Sanders

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.