Tuesday June 18th, 2019 2:53PM

Verification process determines Habersham voters are in correct district

By Rob Moore Reporter

CLARKESVILLE — A state office has determined that all Habersham County voters’ addresses are in the proper state House district.

The third-party verification by the Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Office of the Georgia General Assembly reviewed voter assignment date files from the Habersham County Elections Office and GIS Mapping System, comparing them with their own files and validating accuracy.

“After checking, and geographically identifying, each address in the State Reapportionment Office, Habersham County Elections Supervisor Laurel Ellison has verified that all Habersham County voters’ addresses are in the proper House district and that no errors were found in the maps when conducting this latest verification effort,” a written statement issued by Habersham County Commission Chairman Victor Anderson Tuesday afternoon reads.

In late August, Habersham County officials conceded that errors were made that cast into doubt the results of the May 22 Georgia House District 28 Primary Election.

In that House District 28 Primary race, incumbent Rep. Dan Gasaway was defeated by challenger Chris Erwin.

At that time, Anderson acknowledged there were issues related to the ballots assigned to people living near the boundary of House District 28 and House District 10.

Since that time, those voter assignments have been corrected.

Last week, Senior Judge David Sweat set aside the House District 28 Primary from May 22, setting a new election for the seat on Dec. 4.

Anderson said the verification of correct House districts for the Nov. 6 General Election and those going forward is encouraging.

“This has been a reassuring exercise and it has allowed all voter files to be cross checked with state voter files from the Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Office,” Anderson’s statement reads.

  • Associated Categories: Homepage, Local/State News, Politics, Georgia News, Election 2018
  • Associated Tags: Habersham County, Election, Chairman Victor Anderson, Rep. Dan Gasaway, House District 28, House District 10, Chris Erwin
© Copyright 2019 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.