Saturday July 20th, 2019 7:37AM

Sellers wins third South Boston Speedway LMSC title

By Mike Smith
  Contact Editor

SOUTH BOSTON, Vir. - Peyton Sellers is now a three-time South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division champion.

With a second-place finish in the first of the twin 75-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division races that headlined Saturday night’s racing program at the South Boston, Virginia raceway and a win in the nightcap, Sellers earned his third South Boston Speedway track championship in five years.

Sellers entered Saturday night’s twinbill with a 41-point lead over NASCAR national points leader Philip Morris, and with the two drivers finishing within one position of each other in both races, Sellers was able to secure the championship.

Morris earned a full-field win in the opening race, starting on the pole and leading all the way, edging Sellers by 2.446 seconds in a 25-lap dash to the finish that followed the race’s last caution period. Sellers started in the back of the field in order to pick up track passing points, moved into second place on lap 48, and remained there the rest of the race.

The win, Morris’ 10th of the season at South Boston Speedway, put him in the position of all but locking up a fifth career NASCAR Whelen All American Series national championship.

Thomas Scott finished third, with Justin Carroll in fourth and Colin Garrett in fifth.

Sellers started eighth and Morris started 10th in the nightcap, which featured an inverted start among the top finishers of the first race. It took Sellers and Morris only six laps to pick their way to the front of the field, and from there, Sellers fended off several bids by Morris over the final 69 circuits to score his third win of the season.

Austin Thaxton came home in third, followed by Scott in fourth and Mark Keesee, Jr. in fifth.

In other action, Trey Crews won his second career Limited Sportsman division championship and his third career track title with a win in the Limited Sportsman feature.

Crews took the lead from Jessica Dana with 15 laps to go and edged her by .835-second to score his eighth win of the season.

Ross Dalton finished in third, with Daniel Moss in fourth and Brandon Jones in fifth.

Daniel Shelton won the South Boston Speedway Budweiser Pure Stock division championship with a sixth place finish in the night’s feature. Meanwhile, Jordan Pickrel took the lead from Jarrett Milam with nine laps to go and scored his second feature win of the season. Greg Autry, Stuart Crews, Layne and Bruce Mayo rounded out the top five.

Cameron Jarrell used a second place finish in the Budweiser Hornets feature to take home the division championship. Billy Goble scored a flag-to-flag win in his first time in competing in the division at South Boston Speedway with Jarrell finishing second, Tony Housman third, Kevin Currin fourth and Steven Layne fifth.

Dennis Holdren scored the win and the division championship in the Mod-4 feature. Holdren edged Cory by 1.341-second for the win, with Drew Holdren in third, Josh Phillips in fourth and Jesse Yopp in fifth..

For more information on South Boston Speedway, visit

South Boston Speedway – South Boston, VA
Race Results – September 8, 2018

NASCAR Whelen Late Model Race 1
1. 01 Philip Morris
2. PS26 Peyton Sellers
3. TS8 Thomas Scott
4. 91 Justin Carroll
5. 24 Colin Garrett
6. 12 Austin Thaxton
7. 3 Nathan Crews
8. 90 Terry Carroll
9. 38 Mark Keesee, Jr.
10. 75 Quincy Adkins
11. 64 Charles Barnes
12. 50 Raymond Pittman III
13. 23 Danny Willis, Jr.
14. 28 Jason Barnes
15. 39 Mike Jones
16. 87 Mike Looney
17. DH8 Dennis Holdren
18. SC26 Stuart Crews

NASCAR Whelen Late Model Race 2
1. PS26 Peyton Sellers
2. 1 Philip Morris
3. 12 Austin Thaxton
4. TS8 Thomas Scott
5. 38 Mark Keesee, Jr.
6. 90 Terry Carroll
7. 3 Nathan Crews
8. 64 Charles Barnes
9. 50 Raymond Pittman III
10. 75 Quincy Adkins
11. DW26 Danny Willis
12. 39 Mike Jones
13. JB8 Jason Barnes
14. 91 Justin Carroll
15. 24 Colin Garrett

Limited Sportsman
1. TC9 Trey Crews
2. JD9 Jessica Dana
3. 50 Ross Dalton
4. 58 Daniel Moss
5. 16 Brandon Jones
6. 13 Richard Caldwell
7. 17 Jason Myers
8. 8 Drew Dawson
9. 4 Kirstin Simmons
10. 25 Jacob Bors
11. 19 Bob Davis

Pure Stock
1. 88 Jordan Pickrel
2. 4 Greg Autry
3. 29 Stuart Crews
4. 9 Johnny Layne
5. 0 Bruce Mayo
6. 3 Daniel Shelton
7. 66 Scott Phillips
8. 8 Justin Dawson
9. 28 Jared Milam
10. 61 Jimmy Wade

1. 18 Billy Goble
2. 56 Cameron Jarrell
3. 09 Tony Housman
4. 49 Kevin Currin
5. 07 Steven Layne
6. 71 Joey Clay
7. 2 Kenny Daniel
8. 8 Jesse Keesee
9. 01 Jared Dawson
10. 9 Josh Dawson
11. 32 Doug Perkins
12. 12 Andrea Ruotolo
13. 02 Ty Stanley

Mod 4
1. 99 Dennis Holdren
2. 75 Cory Dunn
3. 1 Drew Holdren
4. 97 Josh Phillips
5. 12 Jessie Yopp
DNS: 38 Joseph St Claire

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Late Model, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.