Saturday March 23rd, 2019 4:58PM

Sorrow, Higgins score Anderson Late Model Stock wins

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

Luke Sorrow and Ashton Higgins made the most of the twin Late Model Stock Car features on Friday night at Anderson Motor Speedway in Williamston, South Carolina.

Sorrow and Higgins split the wins in the features. Sorrow was the victor in the first race, while Higgins raced to his first career Late Model Stock feature win in the second.

In the first feature, Sorrow would start from the pole. The Belton, South Carolina driver powered to the victory over Trey Gibson, with the previous week’s winners, David Roberts and Ralph Carnes, finishing third and fourth, respectively. Higgins followed in fifth.

In the second feature, Higgins held off a final lap charge by Kenneth Headen to score the victory in a photo finish. It marked the first LMSC win for the Weaverville, North Carolina native.

Sorrow finished in third, with Nolan Pope in fourth and Carnes in fifth.

In other action, Austin Northcutt held off Zak Brown for the win in the BM Modifieds feature. Stephen Anders finished in third, followed by Trent Smith in fourth and Tanner Carter in fifth.

Jeffrey Kummer took the victory in the Mini Stock feature, with Ryan Howard in second, David Darnell in third, Ben Kay in fourth and Chad Campbell in fifth.

Chris Whitfield topped the field in the Renegades feature to take the win. Chad Watt, Justin Southerlin, David Whitaker and Carey Smith rounded out the top five.

Karl Moberg was the winner in the US Legends feature, with Justin Ashley second, Mitchell Hedstrom third, Gracie Trotter fourth and Lee Jordan fifth.

Scott Parker took top honors in the Front Wheel Drive feature. Hunter Evans came home in second, followed by Carey Smith in third, Chris Harvell in fourth and Casey Burkett in fifth.

Anderson Motor Speedway returns to action on Saturday, May 12, as the raceway plays host to the Southeast Super Truck Series for the second time this season.

For more information, visit

Anderson Motor Speedway – Williamston, SC
Race Results – May 4, 2018

Late Model Stock Cars
Race One
1. Luke Sorrow – Belton, SC
2. Trey Gibson – Easley, SC
3. David Roberts – Simpsonville, SC
4. Ralph Carnes – Anderson, SC
5. Ashton Higgins – Weaverville, NC
6. Kenneth Headen – Greenville, SC
7. Nolan Pope – Harrisonville, MO
8. Archie Adams – Fountain Inn, SC
9. Ron Hall
10. Kevin Sterling – Honea Path, SC

Race Two
1. Ashton Higgins – Weaverville, NC
2. Kenneth Headen – Greenville, SC
3. Luke Sorrow – Belton, SC
4. Nolan Pope – Harrisonville, MO
5. Ralph Carnes – Anderson, SC
6. Trey Gibson – Easley, SC
7. David Roberts – Simpsonville, SC
8. Archie Adams – Fountain Inn, SC
9. Ron Hall
10. Kevin Sterling – Honea Path, SC

BM Modifieds
1. Austin Northcutt
2. Zak Brown
3. Stephen Anders – Pelzer, SC
4. Trent Smith – Easley, SC
5. Tanner Carter
6. Bryan Mitchell – Anderson, SC
7. Adam Callaham – Central, SC

Mini Stocks
1. Jeffrey Kummer
2. Ryan Howard – Pelzer, SC
3. David Darnell – Travelers Rest, SC
4. Ben Kay – Williamston, SC
5. Chad Campbell – Williamston, SC
6. Chuck Mitchell – Anderson, SC
7. Chase Morrison
8. Ben Burnett – Boiling Springs, SC
9. Bobby Brock
10. Chris Whitfield – Williamston, SC
11. Jeff Turner – Anderson, SC

1. Chris Whitfield – Townville, SC
2. Chad Watt
3. Justin Southerlin – Liberty, SC
4. David Whitaker – Anderson, SC
5. Carey Smith – Starr, SC
6. Jack Hooper – Greenville, SC

US Legends
1. Karl Moberg – Titusville, FL
2. Justin Ashley – HoneaPath, SC
3. Mitchell Hedstrom
4. Gracie Trotter – Denver, NC
5. Lee Jordan – Rock Hill, SC
6. Dwayne Holder – Midland, NC
7. JR Wideman – Mount Pleasant, NC
8. Dwayne Rumsey – Anderson, SC
9. John Creasy
10. Scott Wessel – Joanna, SC
11. Janson Marchbanks – Anderson, SC
12. Salvador Jimenez – Gray Court, SC
13. Clay Thompson – Bowersville, GA
14. Tyler Streetman
15. Danny Cisson – Travelers Rest, SC

Front Wheel Drives
1. Scott Parker – Pickens, SC
2. Hunter Evans – Piedmont, SC
3. Carey Smith – Starr, SC
4. Chris Harvell – Greenville, SC
5. Casey Burkett – Piedmont, SC
6. Candy Bianco – Seneca, SC
7. Allen Porter – Williamston, SC
8. Chris Beacham – Greenville, SC
9. Alex Partain – Anderson, SC
10. Chris Burkett – Piedmont, SC
11. Manuel Molleda – Greenville, SC
12. Wayne Glenn – Seneca, SC
13. Chip Barnett – Piedmont, SC

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.