Monday March 18th, 2019 5:53PM

Bloomquist bags first LOLMDS victory of 2018 at Atomic

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio - Scott Bloomquist led flag-to-flag to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned, Buckeye Spring 50 at Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe, Ohio Friday night.

The 54-year-old, Hall-of-Famer became the seventh different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

Don O’Neal and Tim McCreadie tracked down Bloomquist late in the race as the leader was negotiating lapped traffic, but Bloomquist pulled away in the last few laps for the victory.

O’Neal and Bloomquist started on the front row. Bloomquist stormed to the lead at the start. The race for second-place lasted all 50-laps as O’Neal and McCreadie swapped the position several times during the race.

McCreadie was taking a run at Bloomquist until a caution came out on lap 20. After each caution flag, Bloomquist managed to pull away from the field. No one got close to him until the final six laps, when O’Neal and McCreadie closed in lapped traffic. Neither could get close enough to challenge Bloomquist before the end.

“We had a good night,” said Bloomquist. “We started out good in qualifying and the rest of the night the car was just awesome. The track got pretty slick and blacked off. At the end I just decided to set it high and let it sail. The car got through traffic pretty good. All-in-all I can’t say enough about the car and engine combination. Everything was great. This Sweet-Bloomquist car was sweet tonight and the Andy Durham Engine ran perfect. It was another good points night.”

O’Neal settled for second, with McCreadie in third, Brandon Sheppard in fourth and Blairsville, Georgia’s Jonathan Davenport in fifth.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series was slated to compete at Indiana’s Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night, but with heavy rainfall and storms forecast throughout the day, officials made the call to cancel the event.

“Jim Price and the staff at Brownstown Speedway are always a pleasure to work with, they put their heart into every event,” Series Director Rick Schwallie said. “We held out as long as possible in hopes the forecast may improve, unfortunately Mother Nature is not in our favor today.”

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series returns to action on Friday, April 20 at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio. Visit for more information.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Atomic Speedway – Chillicothe, OH
Buckeye Spring 50 – April 13, 2018

1 2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $12,900
2 1 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $6,300
3 3 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $4,200
4 12 1s Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $3,450
5 23 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $3,150
6 4 9 Devin Moran Dresden, OH $1,800
7 14 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $2,500
8 10 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $2,000
9 7 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,000
10 13 25Z Mason Zeigler ® Chalk Hill, PA $1,200
11 16 10C Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV $1,075
12 6 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA $1,050
13 21 71R Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH $1,025
14 9 11H Jared Hawkins Fairmont, WV $1,000
15 11 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,700
16 22 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $1,000
17 24 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $1,000
18 18 40B Kyle Bronson ® Brandon, FL $1,700
19 25 7MM Michael Maresca Hannawa Fallls, NY $100
20 26 44F Mark Frazier Chillicothe, OH $1,000
21 15 99JR Frank Heckenast, Jr. Frankfort, IL $1,000
22 20 4B Jackie Boggs Grayson, KY $1,000
23 5 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $1,800
24 19 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,700
25 17 28C Tyler Carpenter Parkersburg, WV $1,000
26 8 44 Dave Hess, Jr. Waterford, PA $1,000
  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lucas Oil Dirt Racing Series
© Copyright 2019
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.