Monday August 20th, 2018 8:13PM

Chris Jones dominates for Winder-Barrow Hobby victory

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

Chris Jones led wire-to-wire in Saturday night’s Hobby feature at Georgia’s Winder-Barrow Speedway to score the victory.

Jones had to wait through a pair of false starts to get to the lead. Once the race was underway, the Monroe, Georgia speedster moved out to a healthy lead, with Glenn Jackson and Keith Baker in pursuit.

Jones saw that lead evaporate when Andy Barton’s car slowed suddenly in turn four, drawing the caution.

Back under green, Jones again moved to the lead, with Baker and Chase Lampp following. From there, Jones would drive unchallenged to the victory.

Baker came home in second, with Lampp in third.

In other action, Chad Puckett held off John Anderson to score the Limited Late Model win. Jeff Lampp finished in third, with Brant Carey in fourth and Chris Woods in fifth.

Clayton Callaway was the winner in the Modified Street feature. Jordan Poole finished in second, with Wormy Gaddis in third and Aaron Criswell in fourth.

Ronnie Poole took the victory in the Stock V8 feature, with Mark Chancey, Trip Sexton, Jeff Casper and Lewis Roberts rounding out the top five.

Kyle Braswell scored the victory in the Stock 4A feature. Justin Taylor finished in second, with James Gaines in third, James Robinson in fourth and Allen Cantrell in fifth.

Cody Albright edged out Brandon Cox for the Stock 4B feature, with Cody Peppers finishing third, Kyle Walker fourth and Bobby Croya fifth.

In the feature for the visiting Mini Late Models, Kenny Dobbs took top honors, followed by Jayson Didonna in second, Matt Lawson in third, Brad Amerson in fourth and Clay Collins in fifth.

Winder-Barrow Speedway was original slated to host the Roger Cooper Memorial Race on Saturday, May 19, but with weather questionable for the date, the decision was made by track officials to push the event to a later date.

Track officials are still planning to run a regular season race on Saturday night. For more information, visit

Winder-Barrow Speedway – Winder, GA
Race Results – May 12, 2018

1. #17 Chris Jones
2. #29 Keith Baker
3. #25 Chase Lampp
4. #44 Andy Barton-DNF
5. #15X Glenn Jackson-DNF

Limited Late Models
1. #357 Chad Puckett
2. #7 John Anderson
3. #2 Jeff Lampp
4. #1A Brant Carey
5. #17 Chris Woods
6. #1 Josh Hardegree-DNF

Modified Street
1. #24C Clayton Callaway
2. #99 Jordan Poole
3. #10 Wormy Gaddis
4. #78 Aaron Criswell
5. #22 Shane Peppers-DNF

Stock V8
1. #55 Ronnie Poole
2. #20 Mark Chancey
3. #69 Trip Sexton
4. #09 Jeff Casper
5. #20 Lewis Roberts

Stock 4A
1. #8 Kyle Braswell
2. #02 Justin Taylor
3. #441 James Gaines
4. #10 James Robinson
5. #3 Allen Cantrell
6. #35 Joseph Dyer
7. #22 Robert Kennedy-DNF
8. #52 Damen Harrison-DNF

Stock 4B
1. #13 Cody Albright
2. #72 Brandon Cox
3. #51 Cody Peppers
4. #10 Kyle Walker
5. #38 Bobby Croya
6. #67 Stephen Bradshaw
7. #114 Dustin Kennedy
8. #42 Adam Jones
9. #55 Franklin Sargent
10. #66 Brandon Franklin
11. #43 Robert Booth
12. #B31 Bobby Peppers
13. #09 Jeffrey Bradshaw
14. #16 Britani Page-DNF
15. #320 Tracy Kennedy-DNF
16. #11 William Earnest-DNF

Mini Late Models
1. #99 Kenny Dobbs
2. #24 Jayson Didonna
3. #85 Matt Lawson
4. #22 Brad Amerson
5. #4 Clay Collins
6. #97 Fatback Chance
7. #99 Bill Goss
8. #01X Thomas Cooler
9. #23 Albert Brayfield
10. #01 Nick Hardy
11. #84 Chase Teague-DNF
12. #9R Rick Goss-DNF

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Winder-Barrow Speedway
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.