Thursday August 16th, 2018 2:15AM

Jonathan Davenport rules with LOLMDS victory at Ocala

By Series PR
  Contact Editor

OCALA, Fla. - Jonathan Davenport’s return to the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series in 2018 is off to a superb start.

The Blairsville, Georgia speedster captured his third series win of the year on Sunday night at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida. Davenport became the third different leader of the 50-lap main event when he took the top spot for good on lap five from Tyler Erb.

Tim McCreadie and Erb started on the front row, with McCreadie leading the first two laps until Erb forged in front on lap three. When Davenport went by Erb two laps later, he never looked back, but was challenged late in the race by Earl Pearson, Jr.

“I thought I was going to turn over at the start,” Davenport said. “I didn’t know that hole was quite as big as it was. Tyler (Erb) had a harder tire on at the start and I knew it wouldn’t fire after a few restarts. Our car was really good through the middle of the race. The slime came back up just a little bit. Then the rubber came back really really hard. I was just trying to protect my right rear tire. I was grinding on the right front and then I started to feel it vibrate.

“You are always concerned about tire wear at this track. This place is so oddly-shaped. You could bounce in turn one and then in three you had to be easy. If you went in too hard, you would just slide out. There is a lot going on in the cockpit that a lot of people can’t see.”

Pearson had his best finish of the season with a runner-up position to Davenport. Pearson closed on Davenport in the final laps to make the final outcome close.

Hudson O’Neal came home in third, followed by Jimmy Owens in fourth and Kyle Bronson in fifth.

Don O’Neal, Matt Cosner, Jason Fitzgerald, Scott Bloomquist, and Chub Frank rounded out the top ten.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Bubba Raceway Park – Ocala, FL
Race Results – February 11, 2018

1 3 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $10,500
2 7 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $6,800
3 9 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $4,200
4 11 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $3,550
5 14 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $2,750
6 18 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $2,600
7 21 66c Matt Cosner Ridgeley, WV $1,500
8 17 7F Jason Fitzgerald Middleburg, FL $1,300
9 23 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $2,500
10 22 1* Chub Frank Bear Lake, PA $1,100
11 2 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,775
12 20 1s Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,550
13 24 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA $1,725
14 15 C02 Doug Drown Wooster, OH $1,000
15 10 28 Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $1,650
16 6 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $2,525
17 8 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $2,100
18 12 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,575
19 16 14m Morgan Bagley Gladewater, TX $850
20 19 33 Jeff Mathews Brandon, FL $825
21 5 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $1,500
22 1 91 Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $1,400
23 13 116 Brandon Overton Evans, GA $800
24 4 14T Tyler Clem Tampa, FL $800
  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Lucas Oil Dirt Racing Series, #GAdrivers
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.