Friday January 18th, 2019 12:44AM

Sheldon Haudenschild gets first WoO Sprints victory

By Colby Gorniewicz
  Contact Editor

BARBERVILLE, Fla. - Sheldon Haudenschild passed race-long leader Paul McMahan on a lap 27 restart to win his first career World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series feature in thrilling fashion Friday night at the DIRTcar Nationals at Florida’s Volusia Speedway Park.

Haudenschild, in his first Outlaw start with the Stenhouse Jr.-Marshall Racing No.17, assumed the runner-up position with three laps remaining after Ian Madsen caught the rut in turn one and landed on his side.

Haudenschild muscled his way underneath McMahan, who was nursing a flat tire, on the restart and never looked back for a popular victory in front of the standing room only crowd. McMahan held on for second with Shane Stewart in third, Donny Schatz in fourth and Cory Eliason in fifth.

Rico Abreu, Jason Johnson, Kerry Madsen, Greg Hodnett, and Brent Marks rounded out the top ten.

In other action, night number four of the DIRTcar Nationals would see the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds race in the popular Quad-15s format. Every driver on hand raced in a feature with a chance at winning a coveted Gator.

Highlighting the night was the victory in the final Quad Feature by Kyle Strickler, whose day started with his car falling off the hauler earlier in the afternoon while unloading. The 33-year-old and his crew worked feverishly on his damaged ride and the hard work paid off with the win.

Nick Hoffman, the current DIRTcar Nationals Gator Points leader, kept that lead with a runner-up showing ahead of McKinney, with David Stremme in fourth and Zeke McKenzie in fifth.

Earlier in the night, the third Quad Feature would see Tyler Nicely take the lead away from Ken Schrader with five laps to go to score the win. Tyler Evans, Mark Whitener, Justin Allgaier, and Matt Crafton rounded out the top five.

The second Quad Feature of the night saw Frank Paladino score the win from the pole. Jason Garver finished in second, with Michael McGee third, Dugan Thye fourth, and Dave Baldwin in fifth.

Larry Mott led the first Quad feature of the night flag-to-flag to take the win. Rich Pratt, Craig Shaw, Gary Bentley and Brenden Rassel rounded out the top five.

Action in the 47th annual DIRTcar Nationals continues on Saturday night, featuring the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series and the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds. For mote information, visit DIRTcarnationals.com.

DIRTcar Nationals
Volusia Speedway Park – Barberville, FL
Race Results – Feb. 9, 2018

World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series
1. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild
2. 13X-Paul McMahan
3. 2-Shane Stewart
4. 15-Donny Schatz
5. 83-Cory Eliason
6. 24-Rico Abreu
7. 41-Jason Johnson
8. 2M-Kerry Madsen
9. 27-Greg Hodnett
10. 19-Brent Marks
11. 1S-Logan Schuchart
12. 9-Daryn Pittman
13. 21-Brian Brown
14. 49-Brad Sweet
15. 11K-Kraig Kinser
16. 5W-Lucas Wolfe
17. 4-Parker Price-Miller
18. 7S-Jason Sides
19. 7K-Cale Conley
20. W20-Greg Wilson
21. 4K-Kasey Kahne
22. 18-Ian Madsen
23. 70-Dave Blaney
24. 5-David Gravel
25. 49X-Tim Shaffer
26. 1A-Jacob Allen

DIRTcar UMP Modifieds
Feature 1
1.Larry Mott
2.Rich Pratt
3.Craig Shaw
4.Gary Bentley
5.Brendan Rassell
6.Steve Stevenson
7.Jesse Strange
8.Dustin Thayer
9.John E Baker
10.Todd Souza
11.Matthew Johnson
12.Rick Weitekamp
13.Marvin Barton
14.William Cevaal
15.Ryan Beckett
16.Robbie Evans
17.Joey Miller
18.Timmy Near

Feature 2
1. Frank Paladino
2. Jason Garver
3. Michael McGee
4. Dugan Thye
5. Will Long
6. Dave Baldwin
7. Gene Nicholas
8. Buzzie Reutimann
9. Blake Spalding
10.Will Norris
11. A.J. Fike
12. Dave Jamison
13. Jason Brookover
14. Ryan Ayers
15. Jesse Rupe
16. Lee Hobbs
17. Brad Goff
18. Jeff Thomas

Feature 3
1.Tyler Nicely
2. Tyler Evans
3. Mark Whitener
4. Justin Allgaier
5. Matt Crafton
6. Justin Haley
7. Hunt Gossum
8. Ray Bollinger
9. Troy Johnson
10. Austin Holcombe
11. Ryan Cripe
12. Rick Conoyer
13. Tony Anderson
14. Jessie Hoskins
15. Ken Schrader
16. Todd Neiheiser
17. Garrett Stewart
18. Jamie Carter

Feature 4
1.Kyle Strickler
2.Nick Hoffman
3. Mike McKinney
4. David Stremme
5. Zeke McKenzie
6. Allen Weisser
7. Brian Ruhlman
8. Michael Long
9. Jason Beaulieu
10. Kenny Wallace
11. Shon Flanary
12. KC Burdette
13. Larry Burkins
15. Chase Collins
16. Will Krup
17. Ricky Arms
18. Josh Rice

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Sprint Car, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Modifieds, WoO
© Copyright 2019 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.