Thursday February 21st, 2019 7:01AM

Brandon Overton drives to Swainsboro Turkey 100 win

By Candy Carroll
  Contact Editor

Brandon Overton powered to the lead and drove to the victory in Saturday’s Southern Dream Turkey 100 at Georgia’s Swainsboro Raceway.

The home state victory was worth $20,000 to the Evans, Georgia driver, as he scored his first win in the Zaxby’s Crate Late Model division event.

Overton and Devin Dixon brought the 26-car field to the green flag, with Overton surging to the early lead. Behind him, Dixon and Mark Whitener giving chase. By lap nine, Overton found himself racing in lapped traffic, allowing Dixon to close. Overton carefully made his way through traffic to hold the lead.

Overton continued to show the way as the laps clicked off, with the first caution of the night flying on lap 81. He would lead the field back to green, with Whitener moving to second and Scott Bloomquist in third.

The action was broken up again with just six laps to go when Joshua Bishop cut a tire. Back under green, Overton reclaimed the lead while Kyle Bronson and Bloomquist battled behind him.

Over the final laps, Overton continued to show the way and would cross under the checkered flag first for the victory.

Bronson finished in second, with Bloomquist in third, Whitener in fourth, and Chesley Dixon in fifth.

Dixon, Michael Brown, Ivedent Lloyd, Trent Ivey and Jimmy Thomas rounded out the top ten.

In other action, Cody Overton held off Tyler Mimbs to score the Southland 602 Crate Late Model feature victory. Tyler Sanders finished in third, followed by Bubba Gorman in fourth, and Ricky McClain in fifth.

Jamie Whitaker picked up the Sunoco Super Street division feature win, with Roger McKenzie, Monk Gulledge, Brent Herndon, and Andy Stewart fifth rounding out the top five.

Jamey Donaldson took the lead on lap one of the Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock division feature and went on to record the victory over Brent Herndon in second. Dustin Watkins finished in third, with Andy Stewart in fourth and Alex Sturkie in fifth.

In the Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warrior feature, Tyler Sanders took the lead on the outside on the opening lap and went on to record the win. Graham Stevenson followed in second, with Jacob Barwick third, C.J. Love fourth and George Williamson fifth.

Tyler Davis and Andrew Smith swapped paint coming to the checkered flag in the \Scare House of the South 440 feature, allowing Rod Morris to slip past both of them to snare the victory away. Rafael Dejesus came home in second, with Smith in third, Dusty Collins in fourth and Chris Atkinson in fifth.

For more information, visit SwainsboroRaceway.com.

Swainsboro Raceway – Swainsboro, GA
Southern Dream Turkey 100 – November 24, 2018

Crate Late Models
1. Brandon Overton
2. Kyle Bronson
3. Scott Bloomquist
4. Mark Whitener
5. Chesley Dixon
6. Devin Dixon
7. Michael Brown
8. Ivedent Lloyd
9. Trent Ivey
10. Jimmy Thomas
11. Blake Smith
12. Greg Johnson
13. Brian Mullis
14. Jordy Nipper
15. Ben Faircloth
16. Brett Hamm
17. Joshua Bishop
18. Ches Chester
19. Cole Godowns
20. Ahnna Parkhurst
21. Chad Stapleton
22. Bo Chancey
23. Michael Page
24. Banjo Duke
25. Jimmy Sharpe, Jr.
26. Jeremy Faircloth

602 Sportsman
1. Cody Overton
2. Tyler Mimbs
3. Tyler Sanders
4. Bubba Gorman
5. Ricky McClain
6. Bruce Harvey
7. Cody Corley
8. Luke Scott
9. Terry Lumley
10. Eric Register
11. Jim Rogers
12. Chris Beasley
13. Blake Akridge

Super Street
1. Jamie Whitaker
2. Roger McKenzie
3. Monk Gulledge
4. Brent Herndon
5. Andy Stewart
6. Phillip Burton
7. Lance Griffith
8. Daniel Roland
9. Jimmy Maness
10. Brandon Overton

Pure Stock
1. Jamey Donaldson
2. Brent Herndon
3. Dustin Watkins
4. Andy Stewart
5. Alex Sturkie
6. Roger McKenzie
7. Kip Poole
8. Tyler Sanders
9. Willis McKenzie
10. Paul Belkey
11. Brandon Meeks
12. Houston Heatter
13. Tommy Sause
14. Rak Donaldson
15. Brian Davis
16. Frank Woods
17. Garrett Thigpen
18. Luke Scott
19. Josh Nelms
20. Donnie Birdwell
21. Bo Smith
22. Ricky Strange
23. Daniel Roland
24. Clay Alexander

Road Warrior
1. Tyler Sanders
2. Graham Stevenson
3. Jacob Barwick
4. C.J. Love
5. George Williamson
6. Will Ledford
7. Justin Williams
8. Taylor Shaw
9. Dallas Simmons
10. Austin Crim
11. Matt Davis
12. Chase Johnson
13. Dougie McCullough
14. Gene Thompson
15. Seth Clark
16. Jaime Foskey
17. Gage Carter
18. Derrick Oglesby

1. Rod Morris
2. Rafael Dejesus
3. Andrew Smith
4. Dusty Collins
5. Chris Atkinson
6. Patrick Dees
7. Richard Lastinger
8. Tyler Davis
9. Mike Wilson
10. Chase Mims
11. Bobby Duell
12. Bill Keisel
13. David Barrow
14. Ty McDonald
15. Richie Green
16. Randy Bird
17. John Hooks
18. Brennen Bratcher

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, #GAdrivers, Swainsboro
© Copyright 2019 AccessWDUN.com
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.