Thursday July 19th, 2018 7:09AM

McCoy takes Wragg Memorial LLM victory at Toccoa

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

There was just no slowing down David McCoy on Saturday night at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway.

The Franklin, North Carolina speedster took the lead from the pole, and went on to lead every lap en route to the Limited Late Model feature victory as part of the third annual Stephen Wragg Memorial on the historic 5/16 mile clay speedway.

McCoy jumped out to the point in front of the 18 car field on the drop of the green flag. But he saw that lead negated when a multi-car crash left four cars sitting on the frontstretch before a lap had been completed.

On the second start attempt, 87 back tout to the lead, with 01 again giving chase. The race would again be slowed two laps in when Gus Simpson’s car slowed to a stop on the backstretch, bringing out the first caution of the night.

Back under green, McCoy again moved to the top spot, while Pennington and Dalton Cook battled for the top spot.

The second caution flew on lap seven. On the restart, it was again McCoy taking the point, while Pennington again tried to close before slipping back to battle with Cook.

A spin by Jimmy Johnson in turn four drew the second caution of the night. On the restart, McCoy battled briefly with Pennington before driving away with the lead.

From there, McCoy raced unchallenged to the victory. Pennington finished in second, with Corey Roulette in third, Cook in fourth and Drew Collins in fifth.

Joseph Brown, Jordy Nipper, Bubba Russell, Billy Rushton and Kenny Collins rounded out the top ten.

In other action, Drew Benfield scored the victory in the FASTRAK Pro Late Model feature, with Adam Smith in second, Frankie Beard in third, Colby Cannon in fourth and Derrick Harvey in fifth.

Dale Timms was the winner in the 602 Sportsman/Hobby feature. Nick Sellers was second, with Crandall Turner third, Branden Loudermilk fourth and Mark Wilbanks fifth.

Robbie Campbell scored the victory in the Modified Street feature, with Stephen Segars in second, Billy Buffington in third, Josh Thurmond in fourth and Louis Tetreault in fifth.

Cameron Collett was the Toccoa Pro Trucks feature winner, with Benji Stewart, Coon Ayers, Ralph Anderson and Jimmy Motes rounding out the top five.

Harley Holden held off Randy Boshears to capture the Stock 4 victory. Jackie Holden followed in third, with Adam Brooks in fourth and Ryan Crawford in fifth.

Hayden Collett took the victory in the Stock V8 feature, with Joel Dowling finishing in second, Ricky Jones in third, Wayne Chapman in fourth and Justin Tollison in fifth.

Daniel Reynolds took home the Front Wheel Drive feature win. Jackie Holden was second, followed by Calob Nicholson in third, Robert Hunt in fourth and Nickoli Holcomb in fifth

Toccoa Raceway returns to action on Saturday night, August 12 with the first “King of the Highbanks” race of the summer, along with the Alpha Art Company 602 Thunder Series.

For more information, visit

Toccoa Raceway – Toccoa, GA
Race Results – August 5, 2017

Limited Late Models
1. 187 David McCoy
2. 01 Travis Pennington
3. 05 Corey Roulette
4. 1D Dalton Cook
5. D5 Drew Collins
6. 92 Joseph Brown
7. 1N Jordy Nipper
8. 32 Bubba Russell
9. 4 Billy Rushton
10. 120 Kenny Collins
11. 21 Mario Gresham
12. 03 Randy Nichols
13. 16 Wesley English
14. 1 David Conley
15. 98 Jimmy Johnson
16. 1X Jr Headen
17. 11 Gus Simpson
18. 9 Cass Fowler
DNS: 67 Bryan Mullis

FASTRAK Pro Late Models
1. 371 Drew Benfield
2. 14 Adam Smith
3. 2 Frankie Beard
4. 16 Colby Cannon
5. 11 Derrick Harvey
6. 12 Daniel Wilson
7. 14S Sylvan Schuette
8. 22D Nicholas Deitz
9. 88 Ricky Smith
10. 12A Josh Thurmond
11. 06 Mark Wilbanks
12. 29S Stephen Segars

602 Sportsman/Hobby
1. 07 Dale Timms
2. 71 Nick Sellers
3. 93 Crandall Turner
4. 87 Branden Loudermilk
5. 6 Mark Wilbanks
6. 63 Ben Riggins
7. 74 Joey McCoy
8. 5 Wayne Wilborn
9. 11 Jacob Anderson
10. 28 James Nash
11. 81 John Howard
12. 2 Chris Wilbanks
13. 04K Jermey Kastner
14. 03K Walker Kastner
DNS: 45 Brandon Elliot
DQ: 14R Jeff Robinson

Modified Street
1. 37C Robbie Campbell
2. 06 Stephen Segars
3. 10 Billy Buffington
4. 12 Josh Thurmond
5. 41 Louis Tetreault
6. 12S Robert Stewart

Toccoa Pro Trucks
1. 8 Cameron Collett
2. 3 Benji Stewart
3. 17A Coon Ayers
4. 711 Ralph Anderson
5. 18 Jimmy Motes
6. 21 Bill Pulliam
DQ: 4 Terry Calhoun

Stock 4
1. H3 Harley Holden
2. ZERO3 Randy Boshears
3. W5 Jackie Holden
4. 00 Adam Brooks
5. 15C Ryan Crawford
6. 75 Christopher McCulloch
7. 88M Bryce Moody
8. 3S Douglas Stewart

Stock V8
1. 7 Hayden Collett
2. 7D Joel Dowling
3. 91 Ricky Jones
4. 73 Wayne Chapman
5. 22 Justin Tollison
6. 85 Stacy Watts
7. 07 Bobby Hellard

1. 20 Daniel Reynolds
2. 67 Jackie Holden
3. 2N Calob Nicholson
4. 33 Robert Hunt
5. 11H Nickoli Holcomb
6. 77E Brian Evans
7. 3K Alexander Kastner
8. 17C Bradley Crunklton

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Toccoa
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.