Friday July 20th, 2018 10:03PM

Charlie Watson takes Hickory Late Model Stock victory

By Track PR
  Contact Editor

Charlie Watson held off Kres VanDyke to score the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Bojangles Late Model victory Saturday night at North Carolina’s Hickory Motor Speedway.

The win comes one week after sweeping a pair of Late Model features at the historic 3/8 mile asphalt speedway.

Watson started the race in fourth place alongside VanDyke, as Ryan Repko and Ryan Millington brought the field down to the green flag. Repko would lead early, but could not hold off a hard charge from Watson, who would soon move to the point.

Over the closing laps, VanDyke worked to try to catch the leader, but came up short with Watson scoring his third straight victory.

Repko would have to settle for a third place finish, with Sam Mayer in fourth and Millington in fifth.

Jonathan Findley, Jake Ruggles, Ahnna Parkhurst, Omar Jurado and Juan Gonzales rounded out the top ten.

In other action, Sheflon Clay scored the win in the One Design Super Truck feature, with Tyler Dayton in second, Allen Huffman in third, Charlie Neill in fourth and Joey Shuryan in fifth.

Shane Canipe took the win in the Four Cylinder feature, with Curtis Pardue in second, followed by Robert Trivette in third, Allison Houston in fourth and Brian Mundy in fifth.

Alex Reece was the winner in the Paramount Auto Group Limited Late Model feature. Jeremy Pelfrey, Mitch Walker, Dylon Wilson and Pat Rachel rounded out the top five.

Cody DeMarmels scored the victory in the Cosmo Motors Street Stocks feature. Marshall Sutton finished second, with Kevin Eby third, Mark Whitten fourth and Trey Buff fifth.

Justin Austin was the winner in the Renegades feature, followed by Kyle DiVanna in second, Robbie Hollifield in third, Casey Meyer in fourth and Robert DiVanna in fifth.

Hickory Motor Speedway will next play host to the CARS Racing Tour on Saturday, August 5. For more information, visit

Hickory Motor Speedway – Hickory, NC
Race Results – July 29, 2017

Late Models
1. 9W Charlie Watson
2. 15V Kres VanDyke
3. 14R Ryan Repko
4. 41M Sam Mayer
5. 76 Ryan Millington
6. 4F Jonathan Findley
7. 29 Jake Ruggles
8. 23P Ahnna Parkhurst
9. 15O Omar Jurado
10. 5X Juan Gonzales
11. 5Z Abraham Jurado
12. 3O Dylan Oliver
13. 91 Stevie Johns, Jr.
14. 29M Mitch Walker
15. 51P Jeremy Pelfrey
16. 11C Dawson Cram
17. 1C Sheflon Clay
DNS: 21 Monty Cox

Super Trucks
1. 15C Sheflon Clay
2. 36D Tyler Dayton
3. 51 Allen Huffman
4. 26 Charlie Neill
5. 30 Joey Shuryan
6. 70B Travis Baity
7. 3 Colby White
8. 80 Eddie Collins, Jr.
DNS: 17A Terry Absher

1. 09C Shane Canipe
2. 17 Curtis Pardue
3. 11 Robert Trivette
4. 29H Allison Houston
5. 6M Brian Mundy
6. 0 Randy Canipe

Limited Late Model
1. 18R Alex Reece
2. 51 Jeremy Pelfrey
3. 29 Mitch Walker
4. 1 Dylon Wilson
5. 91 Stevie Johns Jr.
6. 34 Pat Rachels
7. 22L Brandon Lemke
8. 99F Sawyer Frady
9. 21 Monty Cox
10. 29W Paul Williamson
11. 3D Dylan Oliver
12. 28D Dennis Trivette
13. 2P Travis Powell
14. 11C Dawson Cram
15. 14A Akinori Ogata
16. 50 Haley Mood

Street Stocks
1. 18D Cody DeMarmels
2. 64 Marshall Sutton
3. 3 Kevin Eby
4. 77P Mark Whitten
5. 69 Trey Buff
6. 52 Don Machutta
7. 4 Danny Brewer
8. 2J Ethan Johnson

1. 1 Justin Austin
2. 71 Kyle Divanna
3. 51 Robbie Hollifield
4. 18 Casey Meyer
5. 71D Robert Divanna
6. 83 David Hasson
7. 6 Darren Dickinson
8. 21 RJ Williams
DNS: 97 Danny Crump, Jr.

  • Associated Categories: NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: nascar, motorsports, Auto Racing, Stock Car, Short Track, Asphalt, Late Model, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.