Wednesday May 23rd, 2018 2:57AM

Simpson takes Toccoa Limited Late Model season opener

By Brandon Reed Reporter
  Contact Editor

Gus Simpson opened up the 62nd season of racing at Georgia’s Toccoa Raceway Saturday in high fashion, as he scored the Limited Late Model victory at the 5/16th mile clay speedway.

Simpson held off Wesley English to take the opening day victory. Shun Thomas finished in third, followed by Joey McCoy in fourth and JR Headen in fifth.

In other action, Frankie Beard took the win in the FASTRAK Crate Late Model feature. Ricky Smith came home in second, with Daniel Wilson third, Dylan Lewis fourth and Jody Farmer fifth.

Chris Wilbanks topped the 602 Sportsman/Hobby field to take the feature win, with Brandon Stroud in second, Greg Ivester in third, Rusty House in fourth and John B. Howard in fifth.

Sterling Helm was the winner in the Modified Street feature, with Louis Tetreault in second, Sammy Calhoun third, Chad Sellers fourth and Jerry Henry fifth.

Henry Holden took the victory in the Stock 4 feature, with Kenny Dobbs, Bobby Rhinehart, Randy Boshears and Justin Barnes rounding out the top five.

In the Stock V8 feature, Hayden Collett beat out Ricky Jones for the win. Ricky Chamberlain came home in third, followed by Ray Foskey in fourth and Brad Nickerson in fifth.

Jackie Holden took the checkered flag first for the Front Wheel Drive feature victory, followed by Justin Reed in second, Calob Nicholson in third, Brady Hunt in fourth and Nickoli Holcomb in fifth.

Toccoa Raceway is set to return to action on Saturday, March 18. For more information, visit

Toccoa Raceway – Toccoa, GA
Race Results – March 11, 2017

Limited Late Models
1. Gus Simpson
2. Wesley English
3. Shun Thomas
4. Joey McCoy
5. JR Headen

FASTRAK Crate Late Models
1. Frankie Beard
2. Ricky Smith
3. Daniel Wilson
4. Dylan Lewis
5. Jody Farmer
6. Larry Waters
7. James Cason
8. Adam Smith

602 Sportsman/Hobby
1. Chris Wilbanks
2. Brandon Stroud
3. Greg Ivester
4. Rusty House
5. John B. Howard
6. Brandon Elliott
7. Crandall Turner
8. Mark Wilbanks
9. James Nash
10. George Reece
11. Matthew Furgerson
12. Thomas Riggins
13. Ralph Anderson
14. Colton Stroud

Modified Street
1. Sterling Helm
2. Louis Tetreault
3. Sammy Calhoun
4. Chad Sellers
5. Jerry Henry
6. Tye Nalley

Stock 4
1. Henry Holden
2. Kenny Dobbs
3. Bobby Rhinehart
4. Randy Boshears
5. Justin Barnes

Stock V8
1. Hayden Collett
2. Ricky Jones
3. Ricky Chamberlain
4. Ray Foskey
5. Brad Nickerson

1. Jackie Holden
2. Justin Reed
3. Calob Nicholson
4. Brady Hunt
5. Nickoli Holcomb
6. Jason Knight
7. Daniel Hambrick
8. Ty Norman
9. Jonathan Riggins

  • Associated Categories: Sports, NASCAR News, Other Motorsports
  • Associated Tags: motorsports, Auto Racing, Dirt Track, Stock Car, Short Track, Dirt Late Model, Toccoa
© Copyright 2018
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.